Review: Nendoroid Miku Miku Kagami

banner

Hi everyone! Here’s TanTango’s third figure review (still lagging in the reviews!). Today’s subject: the adorable Nendoroid Kagamiku!

Kagamiku in her box

Kagamiku inside her box

Note: all photos in this post are linked to my flickr. Click on the images to see larger views

Most of us are no strangers to this particular nendoroid, especially if you have been following different blogs of fellow figure collectors. I’ve been wanting my own Nendo Kagamiku for sometime now, thankfully, I was able to get the very last one from Wasabi Toys just this Thursday. I wasn’t able to get figma Yuki (Bad witch ver.) tho ;A;

Nendoroid Kagamiku set

Nendoroid Kagamiku set

Here is the complete set of Nendoroid Kagamiku. She comes with three faces: her default smiling face; her ‘puzzled’ face and her ‘sick’ face. She comes with three alternative arms (but only two have hands with them) and one alternative leg, which is bent. Kagamiku’s accessories are her customary leeks and a sheet of stickers for different expressions. Also, the stand has been tucked away at the side. I wish the packaging for other nendoroids have the stands tucked at the side as well. It looks better that way.

Looking at you~!

Looking at you! ^^

Here is Kagamiku in the flesh, with her default smiling face. I really love Kagamiku because of her lively expressions — compared to figma Kagamiku who seems to depict meekness (and a sudden burst of anger from time to time), Nendo Kagamiku is very bubbly — which is why a lot of people fawn over her. Nendo Kagamiku also seems to be very photogenic for some reason. Nendo Kagamiku has a very smooth finish, no bad seamlines in sight and details are pretty good. Comparing her colors to figma Kagamiku, Nendo Kagamiku has duller colors, but they still look good nonetheless. I do love how they did Nendo Kagamiku’s eyes.

Rainbow happiness

My favorite shot. Currently my wallpaper XD

Here we see an eagle’s eye view of Nendo Kagamiku… but, she seems to have spotted me. Notice that her stand has more text in it than other nendos — that’s because Kagamiku is owned by Lucky Star, and since she’s cosplaying Hatsune Miku  from Vocaloid, that has to be credited too. This is probably the reason why the anime sometimes bl**ps some words like Play***tion and other things — or they just do it for kicks.

"It's a giant dolphin"

Kagamiku: "Look! It's a giant dolphin!"

Kagamiku riding the giant dolphin

Kagamiku riding the giant dolphin

One of the perks of having a twin-tailed Nendo is that you can make her stand without her stand as long as she has support. The above photo shows a good example of this.

Stick to being expressive!

Stick to being expressive!

A downside to Nendoroid Kagamiku is her lack of accessories, her only accessories are her leeks, but GSC tried to make up for that by adding this sheet of stickers to add on different expressions for Kagamiku. I don’t really want to use them since they’re just a few stickers. I might in future shoots though.

The leek dance

Leek dance?

You can also switch Kagamiku’s hands from their sleeves. I changed her left hand so she can show you one of her leeks. To be able to distinguish her left arm from her right, Kagamiku’s left arm has the “K★H” tattoo right above the sleeve.

"Urusai, urusai, urusai!"

Kagamiku seems to not like the idea

Here’s Kagamiku being a little tsun-tsun since she doesn’t want to do a leek dance for us.

Not everything fits

Shana's face does not fit :c

Well, actually, that’s Nendo Shana’s “urusai” face. I just tried to use it on Kagamiku for kicks. It doesn’t fit in Kagamiku’s hair though… which is sad :c Also, you can remove Kagamiku’s earphones — so you can display her without them. If you do want her earphones on, you need to keep taking them off when you switch faces.

Eh?

Kagamiku: "Are we done yet?"

Here’s Kagamiku’s “puzzled” face. I do think that it sometimes looks like an “annoyed” face (which is probably why they added ‘popping vein’ stickers). I think this can also serve as a “sad” face.

Tiredness

Kagamiku: "I'm tired... orz"

This is Kagamiku’s “tired” face. Kagamiku’s expressions are one of the things I love about her, not only are they adorable, but they vary a lot and can be used in different situations for shoots. Unlike Nendo Yoko who has quite some similarities with her “moe” face and her default smiling face, or Nendoroid Nagi where her “melancholy” face isn’t really very flexible when it comes to shoots.

Nendo and figma Kagamiku

Kagamiku figmaxNendo pair :3

Kagamiku is my favorite Nendoroid to date (followed by Nagi). I love her and figma Kagamiku. Also this figmaxNendo pair is one of the few figmaxNendo pairs I’m trying to have. Nendoroids and figmas are just awesome!

And here’s my grade for Nendo Kagamiku:

Sculpt and Painting: 5/5 Excellent sculpt, no unseemly seam lines in sight. Details are good. Shading and colors are nicely done.
Accessories: 3/5 Would have liked it if Kagamiku had something like a microphone, but her current accessories do suffice.
Posing: 5/5 Kagamiku’s faces are one of my favorite aspects about her — all the faces vary and can be used in different scenes. Kagamiku doesn’t lock in to her stand much, but her twintails can support her without a stand.
Overall: 4.5/5 Kagamiku is a very lovable nendoroid. She gives off a very bubbly personality and is very photogenic. If you collect Nendoroids, or love chibi figures, buying her is definitely worth it even if you are not a Lucky Star or Vocaloid fan.

Photoshoot setup

Setup for the Review Photoshoot

To those who have reached the end of this review, thank you very much for reading! Also, the above photo is how my setup was for the photoshoot. I did tweak the colors using photoshop for this review though — because for some reason, the colors of the photos are not as vivid as I had wanted. I might post an entry soon about photoshopping. Comments about the review and the photos are very much appreciated!

27 Responses to “Review: Nendoroid Miku Miku Kagami”


  1. 1 Snark October 3, 2009 at 4:27 PM

    Kagamiku standing on a dolphin was the best picture I’ve seen all day.

  2. 3 zh3us October 3, 2009 at 5:18 PM

    Grats on obtaining the Versatile Standing on its own Twin Tail Kagamiku Nendo!

    She looks really good with a scarf and Bunny Ears ^^;

    Im Guessing that’s Konata’s Face?

    • 4 Ninjovee October 3, 2009 at 5:22 PM

      Thank you! :3

      Scarf and bunneh ears… but that’s your trademark! I was thinking of a few projects of my own but don’t know how to execute them ><;

      and as I said in the entry… that was Shana's face ^^

  3. 5 Leonia October 3, 2009 at 5:24 PM

    Thank your, for this adorable Kagami Miku Miku presentation. Your picture are great. I have this Nendoroid and I love her ^^

  4. 7 Guy October 3, 2009 at 6:36 PM

    Well, Yoko also has her angry face which is really different.

    I think it’s not exactly “Tired”, but “Exasperated”, like, “Eh, whatever dude, what you did is sto stupid, I can’t believe I’m related to you and you spent all our money!”
    Heh.

    I don’t like the Stickers as an option. Don’t wanna use them.

    Love the ability to stand without the stand, wow! And LOL at her riding a giant dolphin, you horrible person Ninjovee :P

  5. 8 thetsundere October 3, 2009 at 8:04 PM

    “Here’s Kagamiku being a little tsun-tsun since she doesn’t want to do a leek dance for us.”
    So cuuutttteee! And her face in that photo FTW!

  6. 9 LEon October 3, 2009 at 11:22 PM

    If she was not so ex, I would have got her… Great review and photography by the way. Can see your devotion in the review. Keep it going!

  7. 10 mikumin October 4, 2009 at 6:12 AM

    This makes me want Kagamiku even more! (If that’s even possible.) She’s so cute! But I think I’m gonna work on getting the Drossel figma.

  8. 11 Ninjovee October 4, 2009 at 8:07 AM

    @Guy: Well, I kinda meant that, it would have been better if there aren’t too much similarities with two or all of the faces. But, we can’t really choose that XD

    LOL. Is that quote coming from experience? XD

    Please explain: why am I horrible? It is a giant dolphin. XD

    @thetsundere: X3 Yes! Kagamiku is so cute~ :3 I wish the face fit in her hair though

    @LEon: Thank you very much! ^^ Actually, her price is just a tad higher than those of figmas. I think she’s worth it :3

    @mikumin: I want a Drossel figma too! But Kagamiku wins my heart more :3 (that and ojou-sama is tough to find)

  9. 13 Iced October 4, 2009 at 9:16 AM

    Wow, I love how your photos look <33 So colorful! And it works really well for Kagami ^^

    My favorite face is probably the "uguu~ tired" one. I thought it looked weird in the OVA, but for the Nendo it's just…cute! xD

    Sorry to hear you weren't able to get Yuki. Had something similar happen once and…ffff I felt so bad XD

  10. 14 anonymous_object October 5, 2009 at 7:14 AM

    Yay, Kagamiku Nendo ^^. Your photos are getting better and better ^^. It looks like you could use a better reflector on the right though. That or maybe another light.

    Thanks for sharing :)

  11. 15 Ninjovee October 5, 2009 at 8:19 AM

    @Iced: Thank you~! <33
    Yes. ;A; FFFF. I almost didn't get Kagamiku too! It was a good thing I went to the store when I did or else I wouldn't have been able to get both of them! ;A; I guess I am not meant to get Yuki's epicness as of the moment

    @anonymous_object: Thank you very much! I did some photoshop magic in this set though compared to my previous ones (where I did nothing but resizing and adding borders and watermarks. Hm. A better reflector, what do you recommend?

    • 16 anonymous_object October 6, 2009 at 7:25 AM

      Well, it could just be not enough light is bouncing off the reflector. Try moving it closer to the figure?
      Not that it really looks bad now. It just adds some shadows to her face which can actually be useful sometimes ^^

    • 17 Iced October 6, 2009 at 9:31 AM

      FFFF indeed. XD But things happen. I hope you’ll be able to get her in the future ^^

  12. 18 Tommy October 25, 2009 at 1:03 PM

    Lovely review. She’s probably my favourite Nendo since she’s sitting on my desk. Though I only have 3 with two of them being Kagamiku. ^^;;

    One thing that annoys me is you can’t use the stand if you use that “bent” leg. She looks lovely otherwise.

    figma Kagamiku comes with those two faces because MF wants you to buy the regular Kagamin and quite possibly the new summer uniform Kagamin as well.

  13. 19 Ederuferuto October 29, 2009 at 10:10 PM

    I want a setup like thattttttttt!!!

  14. 20 Ninjovee October 30, 2009 at 8:10 AM

    @Tommy: I think the reason why they didn’t bother for the bent leg is because you can support her with her twintails? I haven’t really used that leg much.

    And about figma Kagamin, that’s quite true. I’m highly considering doing that and money constraints is the only thing stopping me ^^;

    @Ederu: You can have a setup like this actually! :D All of these are household items! (the bg is a paperbag LOL XD)

    • 21 Ederuferuto October 30, 2009 at 12:04 PM

      I need to buy tracing paper and lamps! I got no lamps at home. *~*!!

      • 22 Ninjovee October 30, 2009 at 6:16 PM

        Yeah! Lamps! :3 I bought one of those… lucky enough that the one my sister left at the house (the black one) still works XD

        Make sure the tracing paper is thick enough to actually diffuse the light, the first one I had (the one in the photo) is too thin that I need to put some distance from the lamp and the diffuser for it to work well Dx

  15. 23 Otaku Girl February 22, 2011 at 8:54 PM

    Cute~! I just got my first nendos. Len Kagamine, Kaito Shion, Hermione Ayasaki, Ciel Phantomhive, and Miku Hatsune Racing Queen. (The old Miku racing queen, not the new one)Awesome review, btw

    • 24 Ninjovee February 22, 2011 at 11:03 PM

      Wow. That’s quite a first haul you got there :3
      I welcome you to the wonderful world of nendos ^^
      Thanks for reading my review~ and I hope to see more of you in the future :3

  16. 25 Kelf February 1, 2012 at 11:12 PM

    Can i ask mikumiku kagami is vocaloid(hatsune miku) or it’s other anime

    • 26 Ninjovee February 12, 2012 at 4:11 PM

      Kagami is just cosplaying as Hatsune Miku. The series where she is from is Lucky Star. It has a lot of references to other Japanese pop culture fandoms. :)


  1. 1 New Banner LOVE! ♥ « Tangerine Tango Trackback on April 16, 2010 at 9:56 PM
Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 108,358 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 28 other subscribers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

RSS Danny Choo

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Figure.fm

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.