Review: Nendoroid Hatsune Miku (Absolute HMO Edition)


It has been quite a while since I last posted here, but here I am again! I will try to be more consistent because I feel like I have officially slipped out of my PO hiatus (I have a few figures on PO now) thanks to the Megahouse GEM figures and GSC nendos! One of them, though she’s been out for a while now, is the adorable Nendo Miku HMO version.

I’ve actually pre-ordered HMO Miku when she was announced but I cancelled her at the last minute. It was a huge bummer, seeing that she was just so adorable! I found her listed in a local seller’s ebay the other day and felt that I just had to get her, and I’m pretty happy that I did!

Basic Information
Figure name: Nendoroid Hatsune Miku Absolute HMO Edition
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company
Character: Hatsune Miku
Origin: Vocaloid
Run: Standard
Original Price: ¥4000
More information: MyFigureCollection.net


HMO Miku’s design is based off the album of the same name. I think that this is one of the cutest renditions (out of so many) that Miku has to date. I haven’t listened to the album yet (I am not the most avid Vocaloid fan, unfortunately) but I think I would pick it up because the nendo is just too adorable and I would like to know what kind of album is associated with her! Very effective PR/Marketing move, GSC.

HMO Miku’s box is actually slightly bigger than a normal nendo box. Inside, there are tons, and tons of accessories that is more than the average nendoroid as well. You may notice that her box does not have a sticker on it so you have to be careful when looking to buy your own in eBay or in local stores. Of course, you can opt to buy from trusted online retailers instead so you wouldn’t have to worry XD

There are a lot of items that come with Miku. She has three faces: smiling, winking and the puzzled(?) face. She has a ton of accessories which include: two keyboards, a electronic drum set, two leeks (that act as her drumsticks?), a megaphone, recorder, sunglasses and her usb earphones. She has two pairs of hands, and two pairs of her long sleeves. Also, there is her square base that comes with the newer movable edition nendos.

There is also a sticker sheet included that you can use for Len and Rin (provided that you have them) so that they can pose with HMO Miku like in the original PV the design was based from. There’s also a sheet that gives you the entire list of items that come with the nendo and instructions on how to put on her sleeves/hands and her USB earphones. You also get a ticket which gives you access to a free bonus video in NicoNicoDouga (but of course, there is youtube).


As with most nendoroids, paint is pretty decent, although there are still quite a few clumps of paint here and there which could have been smoothed out, it’s pretty normal for nendos to have these minor errors. There is quite a lack of detail compared to the original design of Miku — no trimmings in her vest and there are no marks on her sleeves — which we can account to the HMO character design, but the accessories she comes with have enough details to make up for this.

HMO Miku does not need her stand as she can use her twintails to support her. Unlike Kagamiku, her twintails are long enough to make her stand straight instead of just leaning back to let the ends of her twintails support her. You can also move part of her twintails, although they can be a bit awkward at certain angles.

Although the super movable nendos started with Saber, this is the first time I’ve actually opened a movable nendo (yes, shame on me) and I am pretty surprised with the changes. Her upper arm and leg joints are now connected to her torso, pretty similar with how figmas are and her lower legs and arms now have pegs so you can bend them. This is a very welcome change since you no longer need to fuss when you want to create a different kind of pose. The only thing that remained the same were her hair and head joints that still use the traditional smiley joint.

There are both pros and cons of getting a movable nendo. The good thing about them is that they are indeed more posable than ordinary nendos. You can make them sit, have their arms bent and give them different posses that are not possible with normal nendos since moving the limbs is limited, but you cannot swap arms and legs with movable nendos since the arm and leg joints are now attached to the torso. There are a lot of nendo collectors that swap parts with different nendos, and I think this is the reason why the number of movable nendos released are still quite limited. There is also the issue of repairing the movable nendo if there’s the off chance that her limbs suddenly break off. I don’t want a repeat of my figma Kagamiku breaking. T_T;


Another welcome change that I found with HMO Miku is that you can remove her ahoge. Most nendos I’ve had have their ahoges attached and so it’s really scary handling them because it might break off. I’m not sure as to why they did this, but I think it’s a pretty good move. Now the problem would be that the ahoge might end up getting lost instead of breaking off.

P1030064

One peculiar thing I noticed about HMO Miku is that you don’t need to do an upskirt shot of her because when you make her stand straight, you can definitely see her pantsu from behind. (Fanservice? Y/Y?) Unfortunately, it isn’t her trademark shimapan, although I think that can easily be done with some paint if you have any. I don’t know if the shortness of her skirt from behind is to facilitate the new leg joints or it’s just something they didn’t think about.

As much as I gave so much praise for this nendo, there is one thing that I did dislike about her. Her twintails keep falling off when I try to pose her. I never experienced this with Kagamiku, and so I tried looking and comparing their twintail joints. I’m not sure why, but HMO Miku’s (right) twintail joint  is shorter than Kagamiku’s (left). I am unsure if it’s because HMO Miku’s head is smaller than Kagamiku’s (yes, I did compare the size of their bangs if they were the same, and I couldn’t put Kagamiku’s face in HMO Miku’s hairpiece) or if it was something else. I do know that twintails constantly falling is no fun and it might attribute to the ends suddenly breaking off if the fall is too high.

Even with that setback, I can definitely say that HMO Miku has easily become one of my new favorite nendos. Her versatility with posing, her cuteness and the accessories that come with her simply makes me want to bring her out if I ever decide to take photos of nendos outside.

This conludes my review for Nendo HMO Miku! How did she fare? See the grades below!

Review Statistics
Packaging: ★★★★
Standard issue packaging for a nendo, but the instruction sheet and the online freebie is a plus.
Design: ★★★★
HMO Miku’s outfit is as plain as plain can be. But her accessories (sunglasses and USB earphones) give that extra cuteness that makes you disregard the lack of detail in her outfit. Oh, and super long sleeves add to the cuteness as well! I put down one star for her constantly falling twintails though. That is something that could have been easily noticed and remedied since there have been a lot of twintail nendos made before HMO Miku.
Posing: ★★★★★
Posing HMO Miku is quite a breeze since you need not change her arms and legs now. All the new posing possibilities make it fun to use her in stories/comics.
Enjoyment: ★★★★★
HMO Miku is a cute, highly posable and photogenic nendo. With the right amount of care, she is highly enjoyable!
Value for money: ★★★★★
HMO Miku is more expensive than the original Nendo Miku by ¥1000 but when you count in the number of accessories that she has and her posing potential, I think that HMO Miku is worth buying more than the original, especially if you haven’t bought a Miku nendo yet.
Overall Rating: ★★★★★
HMO Miku is definitely a must-buy nendo for Vocaloid fans and nendoroid fans alike. Her high posability and the amount of accessories that come with her are quite a steal since not all standard release nendos (and even the exclusive ones!) have this much for ¥4000. If you didn’t buy her yet, you are definitely missing out.

This review is surprisingly short than usual. I think I’ve been out of reviewing quite long enough! Hopefully I’ll eventually get back into gear soon enough! More reviews coming soon~! (Although they’re still not-so-new figures ^^; )

15 Responses to “Review: Nendoroid Hatsune Miku (Absolute HMO Edition)”


  1. 1 Yi August 20, 2011 at 8:18 PM

    It’s been so long since you posted here! I missed you. ^ ^

    Anyway, love the review and the photos. Wonderful color scheme to really showcase her greens. She’s a lovely nendo with so many details and movement. I wish I had her too.

    • 2 Ninjovee August 20, 2011 at 8:31 PM

      Hey Yi! Thanks for continuing on stopping by! :3 I have been away from here quite long enough. I haven’t even commented on your blog (although I still read your entries from my RSS reader) ;~;

      Thanks! I do love how these photos turned out even though I just randomly thought of getting the pink backdrop. ^^ Maybe there are still some HMO Miku Nendos in local shops there. Hope you can get to have her someday! She’s just a darling nendo ^^ I regret just getting her now.

  2. 3 Ashlotte August 21, 2011 at 3:09 AM

    What is it about oversized clothes thats so adorable.

    She is painfully cute thats for sure! Shame they can’t make more ones like this being poseable and able to stand on their own. >_<

    Defiantly wanna look at your light setup though like you said Kagamiku looking very shiny and the skin tones look like everyone has a tan haha.

    Lightbulbs may be the culprit…What kind do you use and what color temperature do they run at?

    • 4 Ninjovee August 21, 2011 at 8:44 AM

      Oversized clothes make the one wearing them look more childish and youthful, I guess? *coughlikealolicough*

      Yes she is so adorbz, I can’t get over her! I’m seriously contemplating getting another one if I have a chance. XD

      Yeah, I’ve been noticing that for a while now. I dunno what the problem is… or they just look like they went off on their own to the beach when I wasn’t home >>;

      I use desk lamps with flourescent bulbs. I wish I knew their color temperature but I don’t >>; I tried fiddling with my cam to get the color temp but it’s pretty off so I’m really not sure T_T; *fail*

  3. 5 Snark August 21, 2011 at 11:41 PM

    I’ve never liked Miku, but goddamn she comes with bitchin accessories.

  4. 7 Radiant August 27, 2011 at 10:32 AM

    Good to see you posting again! It has been a long time. :)

    I love HMO Miku. It’s too bad yours has problems with the twin tails falling off. I think it may be an isolated case, though. Mine doesn’t have that problem at all. However one of the posable strands of hair is a bit loose.

    This Miku is definitely adorable. I’m not so fond of the oversized sleeves myself, while they are cute and moe. I prefer being able to see her cute little hands. ^^

    • 8 Ninjovee September 7, 2011 at 1:38 PM

      Yes, I agree. It’s been too long! I’ve been lazy (as usual).
      Hrm. I see. Mine both fall off occasionally when I try changing her faces or something. I dunno. Maybe I’ll try putting a coat of clear nail polish and see if that helps.
      Haha. We are opposing sides on that one. I like the sleeves very much that I use it most of the time. XD

  5. 9 Jowy Bautista August 27, 2011 at 11:05 AM

    It’s been a long time since i visit this blog after i got a nice job. That Miku HMO nendo was so cute & many items too but sadly my friend got victim of her..She get a fake nendroids w/ out knowing w/c is Original & fake…

    • 10 Ninjovee September 7, 2011 at 1:40 PM

      Thank you for your support! So sorry to hear about your friend though D: I should get my ass moving on that real vs. fake nendo post. Never gotten around to doing that still -_-;

  6. 11 MkMiku September 4, 2011 at 12:35 AM

    Always wondered what she looked like up close. Thanks for the detailed review. So many accessories to play with. o.O The 2nd to last photo is my favorite. XD

  7. 13 Xine September 6, 2011 at 7:12 PM

    HMO Miku is such a cutie. Nice to see a new review from you.

    I have yet to own a super movable nendo and I’m thinking HMO Miku is a good choice. Maybe I’ll buy her when I get the chance. Those super long sleeves indeed add to this nendo’s cuteness.

    • 14 Ninjovee September 7, 2011 at 3:05 PM

      Hi Xine! It’s been too long since my last post. So yeah ^^ I had to get working on something new again!

      I think HMO Miku is pretty worth it with her price. She’s super posable, adorable and has a ton of accessories. I guess HMO Miku is better since she isn’t the first super moveable nendo (although I still haven’t opened Saber yet OTL) and they’ve gotten a hang of making these. Pretty sure you won’t regret buying her :3

  8. 15 sloane March 13, 2012 at 7:19 AM

    great review & adorable nendo, have fun with her!
    by the way, i’ve linked to you on my blog, not that it really counts because i doubt anyone reads it..


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 103,163 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

  • I want a Q Box and Try The World subscription boxes so baaaaad ;___; someone stop me from going into a deep pit of spending and happiness chirped 2 days ago

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

