GSC 1/8 Scale Canaan and Alphard Previews

1/8 Scale Canaan by GSC

1/8 Scale Canaan by GSC

Mikatan has updated her blog with previews of the upcoming 1/8 scale Canaan figure by Good Smile Company. Most of you have probably seen this figure if you have looked into WonFes Summer 2009 and Tokyo Figure Show posts. Mikatan gives us the opportunity to have a closer look.

Canaan's sculpt is based from this image

Canaan's sculpt is based from this image

This image is where Canaan’s sculpt was based. We can see that she has no cloak/cape here. I think the additional cloak was nice, since it gives some sort of visual balance to the overall figure.

A close up of her face

A close up of her face

I’m loving Canaan’s expression here… although I see her most of the time with a calm, almost-deadpan face, her expression here gives her more life, in my opinion. For some reason though, her face looks more childish. I love how her necklace is slightly suspended, plus points.

Preview of the base

Preview of the base

It’s good that the base was different than the usual transparent/black plastic base that some figures come with. I love that even smallest bits of details were worked on with the base. There’s even shading on there to make it look like it’s actually the ground. Some of the stones look like styrofoam cutouts to me from this angle, but that might be because I’m looking at it for more than 5 minutes.

Nendo Canaan imitates the pose -- Adorable!

Nendo Canaan imitates the pose -- Adorable!

Seems like we have a little sneak peek at one of Nendo Canaan’s faces as we see her imitate the pose of her scaled version. I like her pose here because it hides the leg joints that  I dislike.

WIP 1/8 Scale Alphard with Canaan

WIP 1/8 Scale Alphard with Canaan

And, at the end of Mikatan’s blog post, we see that there’s a 1/8 scale Alphard figure in the works. Loving the effect that her coat has here. Can’t wait to see that painted!

I liked looking at Canaan from the previews, but she seems a little bit shorter and looks a little bit younger — but I think that some details are very nice. I’m not sure if I’ll be adding this figure to my collection, since I’m pretty sure she’ll cost quite a pretty penny.

For more photos, feel free to look through Mikatan’s blog.

5 Responses to “GSC 1/8 Scale Canaan and Alphard Previews”


  1. 1 Observer Extraordinaire August 20, 2009 at 5:42 AM

    She’s not an exact replica of the Canaan from the anime (she seems a bit shorter and whatnot) but I love it nonetheless. Top notch sculpting, her more babyish face is more appealing to me. And that nendo made me go X3

    • 2 Ninjovee August 20, 2009 at 10:30 AM

      Yes! The nendo made me go X3 too!
      I also agree that even though she’s not totally accurate with her anime counterpart, she still looks very nice.

  2. 3 Tommy August 20, 2009 at 6:42 AM

    I’ll be adding them to my collection. ^^

    I think it’s just that her eyes aren’t as “sharp” as they are in the anime, and I would’ve preferred her with red eyes, but I love how the figure looks nonetheless.

    GoodSmile is one of the few makers that never gives us a boring base to look at…that’s why I love their figures.

  3. 5 Snark August 20, 2009 at 10:55 AM

    I love the pic with nendo Canaan in the same pose XD

    But yeah, the cloak was an awesome addition that really adds life to the figure


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

