Review: Nendoroid Yoko

Nendo_Yoko_Review_banner

Hi everyone~ I’ve been meaning to post another figure review for a while now… so, without further ado, here’s my review for Good Smile Company’s Nendoroid Yokoppai.

Nendoroid Yoko package

Yoko inside her box -- she looks sad D:

Here’s my Yoko still inside her box. I’ve taken her out from her box once, and I left her moe face on… if you buy Yoko you should see her default smiling face first. There is quite a number of Nendoroid fakes out there, so for those who are concerned, as far as I know, there haven’t been any fakes of Yoko so far (and I hope there won’t be!). Also she’s my very first nendoroid, and was actually an impulse buy when I saw her in the actual store of Wasabi Toys.

Also, if you wish to see a larger view of any of the photos here, just click on the photo and it will direct you to its flickr page.

Nendoroid Yoko set contents

Nendoroid Yoko Set Contents

Nendo Yoko has the following with her: her rifle gun plus an extra strap, sunglasses/goggles, two alternate faces: one angry face and one moe face, three alternate arms, two alternate legs and her base. Her default face is placed at the bottom left of this photo.

Yoko

Yoko with her default face.

Since Yoko was my first nendoroid, I had to struggle in assembling her stand. It was quite troublesome assembling her stand and it was annoying that one of the ‘claws’ for her stand was tougher to adjust than the other one. It was also troublesome to balance her because she keeps leaning… in the end, I settled with her slightly leaning to the stand for this review shoot.

Nendo Yoko's back

Yoko from the back

Nothing much can be seen from the back. I do have to remark that her hair pins have a strange greenish color on photos that I could not explain.

Nendo Yoko from up above

Bird's eyeview of Nendo Yoko

Staring somewhere

Another view of Yoko from above

We can see the trademark ‘rift’ that splits a Nendoroids bangs with the rest of its head. It’s customary for one to be able to switch a nendo’s face. I don’t have any problems with this since the cut is always clean outside, but there are some who are bothered by it. Also, much, much love to Yoko’s skull hair clip. It would have been more awesome if the hair clip can be changed, like the Kotobukiya Yoko figure.

Yoko's ponytail

Damaged pony hair D:

While taking shots of Yoko, I noticed that her hair had strange grooves and lines that I’m sure are not from the actual sculpt. It makes me wonder if Yoko was a bit damaged to begin with or it was due to my handling when I first took her out from the box… Nonetheless, it’s quite sad :c I also found that a little portion of her scarf is chipped, but it’s at the back, so it’s not noticeable. This goes to show that one must be very careful when handling their Nendoroid daughter.

More smiles

A close-up of Yoko's smiling face

For those who know of Yoko, we all know that she’s quite famous for her oppai. She’s one of the few nendoroids where you can actually see oppai — or “Nendoppai” as some call them. Majority of the Nendoroids to date usually are flat in the chest area. The only nendo with Nendoppai I could think of at the back of my head would be Kannagi’s Zange-chan.

Ready for battle

Getting ready for battle

Here, I equipped Yoko with her two accessories, her sunglasses/goggles (I honestly forgot what they were in the series ;A;) and her trademark rifle. It took me 30 long minutes to get the rifle pose right, and I felt stupid because I know I did this pose quicker the first time I did it. When equipping Yoko with her rifle this way, you cannot do it diagonally because her nendoppai will get squished and repel the rifle away!

"Don't make me angry..."

Yoko: NO, my oppai do NOT do that!

No, just kidding. Actually, they had an extra strap for the purpose of strapping the gun to Yoko for this kind of pose, or strapping it on her back. The strap is just a tad longer than the strap that’s on Yoko’s rifle by default, and the length of the does not permit Yoko’s rifle to be placed on top of her oppai. It’s quite a fuzzy explanation but I hope you understood. OTL

Angry but Cute

Angry but Cute

Here’s a closer look at Yoko’s rifle. I actually like the details on the eyepiece… The overall look of the rifle lacks on the realistic department… but… it’s supposed to be a cute figure! So not much demerits for that part. I also love how her eyepiece looks on her. And if you’re wondering how to put those on Yoko, there’s actually a slot on the back of her hair for you to place it. I forgot to take photos of that… and the gun assembly. /phail

Gun detail

Ready to pull the trigger any minute now

What is special about this pose is that they really had a spare arm for Yoko for this… although it’s quite sad that this is the only purpose it serves. This particular arm actually has a slot in the hand so that the gun could appear to be held this way.

More angry Yoko

Another shot of angry Yoko

Another problem that I keep having with this pose is that her right arm almost always pops off… but then again, my Nendo Yoko seems to have “weak joints”. The ball of some of the joints split into two parts, and some joints just don’t hold too well. Are fellow Nendo Yoko owners experiencing this too? or did I just end up with a bad Nendo Yoko?

Back view

Back view of the gun wielding pose

For those who are curious… here’s the back view of Yoko when she’s wielding her gun. Phail macro focusing is phail.

Angry Yoko is angry

Did I mention that Yoko's still cute even when angry?

This is actually one of my favorite poses… but you still can’t take away the fact that re-creating this pose is quite tedious.

Moeness

MOENESS :3

And here, we have Yoko’s other alternate face, the moe face. Isn’t it just cute? I don’t recall seeing it in the series though… do you? Still, cuteness cannot be denied.

Will I hurt anybody?

Do you think this face will hurt anyone?

If you have noticed, I have strapped Yoko’s rifle to her back in the moe photos. You have to let the strap run in between her oppai to be able to let it hold properly. The downside of this, is that her left arm sometimes falls off.

More moeness

Moe Yoko sans Goggles

And here’s moe Yoko without her sunglasses/goggles. LOL. Sorry, ran out of things to say.

Overall, here’s my grade for Nendo Yoko:
Sculpt and Painting: 5/5 Lovely shading of the hair, good sculpt, details are good for an SD figure.
Accessories: 3.5/5 Yoko’s trademark rifle is awesome, the sunglasses are okay, but I would’ve preferred alternate skull hair clips.
Posing: 2/5 The faces are nice; most alternate hands are for one-pose use only, same with the legs; Making the epic poses are tedious; Balancing Yoko on the stand is also tedious; Posing with the gun also causes potential damage to the Nendo if the owner is not extra careful.
Overall: 3.5/5 She’s definitely loveable eye candy especially for Gurren Lagann and Yoko lovers out there, but if you’re just looking for a cute Nendoroid to take with you and take photos of, you might want to consider another Nendo.

Well, that’s pretty much it for my Nendoroid Yoko review. I thank the readers who endured my walls of texts to reach the end of this review! Forgive me for some of the blurry photos, as I was testing out a new lighting setup that makes me not depend on the flash anymore. For the photography junkies out there, I would also like to hear your input if I had improved a little from my figma Kagamiku review, and if you have other comments about the current photos as well. Thank you!

22 Responses to “Review: Nendoroid Yoko”


  1. 1 Snark August 20, 2009 at 9:54 PM

    Pretty good nendo to start your collection with; I rather like her angry face >=D

  2. 3 Guy August 20, 2009 at 10:15 PM

    Making the stand work took me effort too. I think I covered it in my post. I was so afraid to snap something. The good way to move it once it’s there and touches the other clap’s base is to shimmy the clap base back and forth, up or down.

    I also dislike her strap, so when she just held her gun, I didn’t have it wrap around her body. After all, you have an alternate strap, so it lies tight to the body of the gun.

    And yeah, Yoko was my first nendoroid as well, and it was a bit exasperating, that whenever you managed to get 9 parts set, the tenth would fall :D

    As for the grooves on the hair, it’s a fault of the production, mine have them too, it’s the fill lines and such. Luckily it’s a part not readily seen.

    • 4 Ninjovee August 20, 2009 at 10:23 PM

      What I do is to twist the clamp when I want to move it… the problem is, one of the clamps refuses to move for some reason and it takes some force to make it move. I was pretty scared of snapping off the stand too ><;

      I had far more fun posing Nagi than Yoko, the only annoying part with Nagi is that sometimes her pigtails fall or they hinder me from making a pose right.

      Thanks for confirming that problem for me! I was afraid it was my fault that she has those on her ponytail.

      • 5 Guy August 20, 2009 at 10:39 PM

        Yeah, I said this on my summary of her (I deducted sculpting points for it):

        I don’t like the seam lines in her hair, the ones in her arms I can live with. But the hair is really noticeable,

        And during the piece itself, I even called it “botched”:

        Sadly, the hair-lines, especially of the ponytail are quite noticeable, including a short section that actually looks botched.

      • 6 Ninjovee August 20, 2009 at 11:08 PM

        Yes, I did read that… and I actually thought the “seam lines” you were referring to was the partition for you to be able to change the faces. ^^;

        But, as you said earlier, it’s good that the damaged part isn’t noticeable.

  3. 7 Will Robertson August 20, 2009 at 10:31 PM

    God I’ve wanted this figure forever. I wish there was a store that sells nendos near me. About what you said with the arm coming out easily, I own a Nendo Ryouko, and she falls to pieces all the time, I have to be very careful not to lose her arms and legs, as they are constantly falling off. I think it’s just a nendoroid thing.

    • 8 Guy August 20, 2009 at 10:35 PM

      It’s a trade-off.
      More poseability=more parts, and easier time taking them off.

      Easy time taking them off, for such a small figure = easier time for them to fall off…

    • 9 Ninjovee August 20, 2009 at 10:40 PM

      Funny you should say “near” since the store where I bought it from is more or less a 2-3 hour commute away from my home… but I think I understand that ^_^

      I’m not sure why, but I think my Nendoroid Nagi’s limbs stay intact better than Yoko’s — then again, maybe GSC is trying to improve on keeping nendos posable yet intact? Hmm.

      Also, I suggest placing all your nendo parts in a container so as not to lose them all over the place :)

      • 10 Will Robertson August 20, 2009 at 10:44 PM

        @Guy: Yeah, I just wish they had a little ring of some sort on the arms, so you could snap them into place.

        @Ninjovee: 2-3 Hours? Ouch. Still, I don’t think such a store even exists in America, so I have to order all my toys over the internets. And I actually keep my nendobits in their original boxs, but I remember once while photographing her in a field, an arm came off without my noticing it, and I had to hunt for it for an hour or so.

      • 11 Ninjovee August 20, 2009 at 11:19 PM

        I’m quite used to the long commute. My uni is far from home and I went to the store that day because I was there hanging out with uni friends ^^

        I’ve always thought that there were more otaku stores over there in America. Maybe you’re looking in the wrong places? I also stored my nendos in their original boxes before as well, but after seeing Kodomut’s blogs about his nendos, as well as how he stores them, I tried looking for alternative containers myself. And, I try to check everything when I keep my nendo back in the container… the only thing I’ve lost so far is the plastic wrap for Nagi’s base ^^;

  4. 12 Haru August 21, 2009 at 4:45 AM

    Great Nendo Yoko review!

    I don’t think I ever had trouble with the stand clamp. It’s easy to twist them and move ’em around. I usually get paranoid with those clamps thinking I’m going to break it or something orz. And about her arms, one of my Yoko’s arms tends to wiggle off but it’s no big deal; it doesn’t fall off a lot.

    Making her hold the gun is a bit tedious but you just gotta know how to pose her arms for it and voila! Right now I have her in her fighter-mode. Her Moe face would have to be my fave, however; so cute!

    Now if only GSC would do a Kamina nendo I’d be very happy indeed.

    • 13 Ninjovee August 21, 2009 at 4:30 PM

      Thank you! The clamp that came with my nendo Yoko is really stubborn since it really doesn’t budge. ><; I guess I just really ended up with a stubborn clamp. Yes! Her moe face is just so cute!~
      OH. If they did make a Kamina nendo, I'd pre-order him in a heartbeat (if I have money. LOL)

  5. 14 Leonia August 21, 2009 at 7:03 AM

    Nice shooting ^^ Yoko is really cute in Nendoroid version ^^

  6. 16 Iced August 21, 2009 at 8:04 AM

    Ahh, I’ve always wanted this Yoko! ;_; She’s really cute (I love the moe face~) but I never ended up getting her. ^^; Sorry to hear that you had trouble putting her together, though D:
    I know what you mean when it comes to the “weak limbs.” I have a Nendoroid of Kagamine Rin, and her arms fall off all the time, even when I just graze by it. The leg joints split in two, too. Dunno why, but yeah, it happens. >:
    I think your pics have improved a lot since your Kagamiku post. They’re a lot clearer, and the colors came out really nice too c: Yup, even the funky greenish-yellow hair pins! (I actually thought they were chopsticks…)
    But anyways, congrats on getting her! She’s really a cute Nendo. >w<

    • 17 Ninjovee August 21, 2009 at 4:35 PM

      I’m sure you can find her somewhere around the internet! There’s bound to be a Nendo Yoko for sale :)

      Thank you for the comment on how the photos look! Wow. Desk lamps really level up one’s photos X3 and as for the hair pins, I’m not really sure if they’re “hair pins” or “chopsticks” but they’re still her hair accessories XD

      Thanks! Hope you can get her in the future as well :)

  7. 18 LEon August 21, 2009 at 9:50 AM

    Congratz for getting your first nendoroid! That’s a good and detail review btw too! Any plan on taking her out for some shoots?

    • 19 Ninjovee August 21, 2009 at 4:45 PM

      Thanks! Actually, this is a long overdue review since I got her on May… I have two other nendos with her now, and a slew of others coming soon. :3

      I might take her out someday… just need to figure out how to pack her safely in my bag ^^;

  8. 20 Iced August 22, 2009 at 5:38 AM

    Definitely! If she was sold out now, that’d be pretty depressing. XD But I’m not sure my wallet can take anymore ” Too many things I want already. ;__;

    No problem! I honestly thought you’d upgraded a camera or something. xD
    Either way, they’re pretty rad! xD I just like to think of them as chopsticks so whenever she’s in a dire situation she can just pull them out and poke someone in the eyes~! That would be the best hair accessory ever.

    Aww, thanks a bunch! <3 Congrats on 4,000 hits by the way. Just noticed today. :'D

  9. 21 Tommy August 27, 2009 at 6:39 AM

    Really nice review. I think her “angry” face is really cute. Makes me regret not buying her when HLJ had her on sale.

    I don’t own many Nendos, or Nendo Yoko for this matter, but production flaws like loose joints can be found here and there. It definitely sucks to land one with flaws, but I tend not to let it bug me too much and just enjoy the figure for all its worth. ^^

  10. 22 Bablet16 March 24, 2010 at 10:10 PM

    the bablet caption, picture 17 down, (moeness:3):

    “I’m sorry, the gun went off by accident…”


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

