Figure pre-order updates! [Aug 27-28]

There are quite a few lovely figures up for pre-orders at Hobby Search since yesterday, and sadly enough, I haven’t been able to update on that again. So, once again, I’ll be giving most of the to-be-watched pre-orders in one entry.

Note: The prices under “retail price” are the “regular prices” from Hobby Search

Taigaaaaaaa <3333

Taigaaaaaaa <3333

Figure: 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga [Miss Contest Ver.]
Manufacturer: Wave
Scheduled Release: Late Dec 2009
Retail Price: 7500 yen
Reserve links: Hobby Search; Hobby Link Japan

I’ve already been fangirling over this lovely Taiga figure since the WonFes blog entries. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to buy her locally since I’m cutting the credit card I’m currently using for figure buying ><; Like some of the entries/comments I’ve read about Wave’s Taiga, it’s very unusual that they would make a 1/8 scale figure, but knowing Taiga’s size, it would probably be as tall as the 1/10 scale figures they have. I’m not much of a fan of her alternate faces though. They look… weird to me. Happy Taiga winz0rz :3

1/10 scale Nodocchi

1/10 scale Nodocchi

Figure: 1/10 Scale Nodocchi (Saki)
Manufacturer: Wave
Scheduled Release: Late Jan 2010
Retail Price: 7600 yen
Reserve links: Hobby Search; Hobby Link Japan

I have no idea what the Saki series is… and I thought it was a slice of life series. But, series knowledge aside, I love her dress, but not much of a fan of the wings… well, I like the wingtips, but not the middle… it looks like they’ve been cut using a cookie cutter. Lovely eyes — both pairs — but I can’t help but feel that her arms are a bit short. Her hair is nice too, but it’s not awesome. She’s a pretty figure, but since I’m not a fan of the series, it’s not as painful to pass on this figure.

Nendoroid Minami Chiaki

Nendoroid Minami Chiaki

Figure: Nendoroid Minami Chiaki (Minami-ke)
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company
Scheduled Release: December 2009
Retail Price: 3334 yen
Reserve links: Hobby Search; Hobby Link Japan

Minami-ke is another series that I do not know of. I love her embarrassed expression but I think her half-asleep face and the other face look too similar — or that’s just me.  And, once again, it’s a seifuku nendoroid, not that it’s bad or anything, but I like it more when nendoroids wear something else other than seifuku (like recently announced Nendoroid Theia). GSC is milking our pockets too much with so many nendoroid releases. ><;

Nendoroid Puchi Lucky Star Season 1

Nendoroid Puchi Lucky Star Season 1

Figure: Nendoroid Puchi Lucky Star Season 1
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company
Scheduled Release: September 2009 (Re-release)
Retail Price: 5715 yen
Reserve links: Hobby Search; Hobby Link Japan

Nendoroid Puchi Lucky Star Season 1 sets are going to be re-released, if you love these cuties, you might go ahead and reserve a set for yourself. Hobby Search has limited these to a 1:1 set-buyer ratio though… am not certain if HLJ is the same. Also, Hobby Search noted that you might not get all variations in one set… which sucks ><; Although I like LS, even if I had spare money left, I’d probably just buy the LS figmas instead of the puchis.

Orchid Seed 1/7 Scale Seira Orgel

Orchid Seed 1/7 Scale Seira Orgel

Figure: 1/7 Scale Seira Orgel (Chaos;Head)
Manufacturer: Orchid Seed
Scheduled Release: December 2009
Retail Price: 7439 yen
Reserve links: Hobby Search

LOL. I’m sorry, Chaos;Head is another game/series that I do not know of. I have to say though, this figure is LOVELY. Not much of a fan with the peeking pupils, but I think she’s lovely, though bit on the pale-side, color-wise.

Beagle 1/7 scale Murata Range PSE Collection `Chris` 2009 Santa Version

Beagle 1/7 scale Murata Range PSE Collection `Chris` (2009 Santa Version)

Figure: 1/7 Scale Murata Range PSE Collection PSE Products 002 `Chris` (2009 Santa Version)
Manufacturer: Beagle
Scheduled Release: Late Jan 2010
Retail Price: 8000 yen
Reserve links: Hobby Search

I’ve looked into the “series”of this figure, but it turns out that she’s just a character design. Love her clothes, not her odangos… and I do not get why there’s a snowman thing as her base. She looks like a good buy for those who like lolis though.

mobip_mugi_yui_official

Mobip Yui and Mugi

Figure: Mobip Hirasawa Yui and Kotobuki Tsumugi
Manufacturer: Aoshima
Scheduled Release: Late October 2009
Retail Price: 3000 yen each
Reserve links: Hobby Search (Yui); Hobby Search (Mugi)

I’ve blogged about these Mobip figures by Aoshima before — but they were still unpainted at the time. Now that they’re in full color, I think their alternate faces and instruments are good, but they look quite bulky for me. They remind me of Fraulein Revoltechs. I wonder if Max Factory is going to make K-On! figmas. If I had to choose what to buy though, I’d go for the K-On! nendoroids instead.

Any favorites from this batch? I’m pretty sure you all know what mine is =D

12 Responses to “Figure pre-order updates! [Aug 27-28]”


  1. 1 rapunzel00 August 29, 2009 at 10:31 AM

    I’ve also been absolutely infatuated with the Wave Taiga since WF too, but I really do think $80 is too much for her considering her small size and that I don’t like the alternate faces very much XDXDXD Other than that though, the only one that really catches my eye is the Chaos;Head one <3 She's so pretty~ :D

    • 2 Ninjovee August 30, 2009 at 8:46 AM

      Wave’s Taiga is a certain must-buy! My only problem is, I don’t have any money left to buy her ;A;

      I also agree that Seira is very pretty :3

  2. 3 anonymous_object August 29, 2009 at 10:53 AM

    The Mobip K-ON figures look decent but it’s almost guaranteed the Max Factory will be releasing K-ON figmas. The series is just too popular for them not to.
    As much as I like Murata Range’s art, the pantsu on that figure is just too blatant >_<
    I scored the Lucky Star Season 1 Puchi Nendoroid set last year on Ebay. Ended up being more than retail but the seller was selling the entire set together. None of that random selection in a box stuff. Worth every bit, I love the puchi Nendoroids, they're so cute :D
    And, of course, Taiga + Chiaki = win ^^

  3. 4 Will Robertson August 29, 2009 at 12:13 PM

    Mmm, that Chiaki really is something huh? Too bad I really can’t afford any more Nendos right now.

  4. 5 Guy August 29, 2009 at 5:00 PM

    The Mobip figures look tired and expression-less :-/

  5. 6 Lelouch August 29, 2009 at 6:52 PM

    ALL HAIL MOTHER NODOKA!!!

  6. 7 Snark August 29, 2009 at 8:14 PM

    Jesus fucking christ, Nodoka’s boobs are as big as her head

  7. 8 Iced August 30, 2009 at 7:22 AM

    I literally know none of the series here except for Toradora! and K-ON!. Lmao. ;_; As for Taiga, I don’t like how her alternate expressions look. I think I know what expression they were trying to replicate from the anime, but it just looks…weird on this figure. ^^; It’s a shame, since it could’ve looked amazing, but at least her default face is great. :>

    And I don’t know exactly what it is, but something about the K-ON! Mobips really bothers me. o_O; I think it’s the expressions. They just look…dead to me. I don’t even know what to say.

    • 9 Guy August 30, 2009 at 8:42 AM

      See, that’s the nice things. Everyone on-line seems to like a different Taiga face (except for the wistful one). So by giving different people different faces to like, they’ve covered their bases.

    • 10 Ninjovee August 30, 2009 at 8:50 AM

      LOL. Don’t worry, I don’t really know of some of the series where half of the figures come from… usually I just look thru Hobby Search to know where the character came from ^^; and yes, I think they were trying to give Taiga some expressions from the anime, her “tsun” and “dere” faces respectively. Sad that they didn’t turn out well.

      After looking at the K-On! Mobips again, I also think they look weird. ><;

  8. 11 Iced August 30, 2009 at 1:48 PM

    @Guy: You’re right! ^^ I totally know what you mean. The face on a figure is a major factor for a lot of people, so by giving more choices they’re basically getting more people to get them. c:
    Hmm… I do remember someone online liking the wistful face but it doesn’t seem to be that popular otherwise orz :(
    @Ninjovee: If I were more into K-ON! I would probably go for the Nendos instead. ^^ Since I was never a big fan of Figma unfortunately ^^;

  9. 12 MangaSprai January 10, 2010 at 8:26 AM

    i just love k-on too much to buy these “tired” figures.
    hope on FIGMA!!


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,607 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

