Review: Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu

Nendo_Reimu_review

Hi everyone! Sorry for the inactivity this past week. Here I am with one of the posts I was supposed to do… a review of the cutesome Nendoroid Reimu!

A package arrived!

Kagamiku spies a package!

Note: all photos in this post are linked to my flickr. Click on the images to see larger views

If you do not know yet (but I’m sure fellow collectors already know this), Nendo Reimu is actually a limited release. She can only be obtained if you were at the recently concluded Comiket 76, or if you live in Japan and order her through certain websites (forgot where though ^^; ). If you don’t qualify for either of those requirements, you have to resort to deputy services, people you know in Japan, or eBay. This is my first limited/exclusive figure purchase and I chose to buy from Tokyo Hunter. People do say that his services are not cheap, and I kinda agree since his prices are almost twice of the figure — but I think he did good since Reimu arrived to me promptly and in pristine condition. I spent 7,240 yen for Nendoroid Reimu (includes EMS shipping) — her price is roughly 1.6 times the price of a normal Nendo if I bought it locally… so I think it’s not that bad.

Soooo. After all that rambling, let’s get on with the review!

Nendoroid Reimu appears!

Kagamiku: Shinyyyyy! :3

There’s nothing really special about Reimu’s box. Kagamiku, however has just seen a nendo in her box for the first time. So, she’s observing, so to speak. XD

Nendoroid Reimu set

Nendoroid Reimu Set

Nendo Reimu has two faces, three extra sleeves, two hands, a hand that holds her tea cup, a hand that is holding her spirit cards(?), her staff and the custom Yin-Yang base.

I was sad that Nendo Reimu only has two faces — I was expecting three since most Nendoroids have three expressions. That’s considering that they’re not  limited/exclusive at all. This was ordered from a website though, are the Comiket Nendo Reimus different somehow?

Nendoroid Reimu

Kawaii Reimu :3

Reimu out of her packaging. I really love her base since it’s refreshingly different from the transparent bases that we are so used to seeing with Nendoroids. I also love the teeny details on her shoes. My nendoroids are either on boots, or slip-on shoes so this detail was something new.

Come with me? (Nendo Reimu version)

Sorry, I can't help but use this pose ^^;

Painting on Reimu is extremely lovely. No seam lines (except for the one on her head which is necessary to swap faces) and the line details on her outfit are well done. I haven’t seen any misses on the painting. This should also be expected since she is, after all, a limited figure.

Reimu desu. Anata wa?

Raburiiii :3

Back view

A view from behind

Another stand out point with Reimu is the sculpting. Notice the ruffles on Reimu’s bow, everything is finely detailed. If I was a sculptor and I needed to do ruffles, I would’ve done those curve things on the edges instead of something like this because this kind of detailing is probably time consuming. Her hair looks nice too. Also, you can remove Reimu’s bow if you wish, by removing her ponytail. Although, if you put the ponytail back… she looks like a samurai from the Edo period.

A thing to note though, some of the paint from Reimu’s ponytail got stuck on the bow… you can click on the photo to see a larger version — I am unsure if it’s just because of my own handling, or if it has happened to any other Nendo Reimu owners… can anyone confirm this?

Skirt details

Skirt details

Her skirt has some good detailing as well! The bow on her skirt can actually be removed for some di:stage action — although I don’t have the di:stage set yet, I’ve seen it from previews in Mikatan’s blog.

Also, notice that her stand has a joint — I’ve seen this first with Nendoroid Nagi — although her stand joint was broken ><; So, be careful with those stands!

Shock

Reimu: *shock*

Reimu is one of the few nendoroids that think white pantsu is boring. She has a more traditional kind of underwear instead…. but I think she’s not too happy that it’s revealed ^^;

You might notice the gap in her torso, that’s actually for her skirt. I do love that they even have a little belly button for Reimu there.

*sobs*

Reimu: *sobs*

Traumatized

Gomen ne, Reimu. I won't do that again v^^;

This shoot was actually my first figure shoot using a DSLR camera (my brother-in-law’s camera, LOL), the photos have been taken in the programmed macro setting  + AWB + manual focus, while starting from the photo above until the last one in this post — they have been taken using custom settings. I fiddled around with the ISO, aperture and shutter speed but I have yet to read what they do exactly ^^;

Divination

Time for shrine duties?

Reimu with two of her props: her staff and her spirit paper (I’m not sure what they’re called). I was a bit disappointed at first with her limited hand options since two of her spare hands are attached to her props, then again, I thought that it would probably been annoying as hell to try and pose Reimu with the tiny props if they were separate from her hands.

Tea time!

"Nothing like relaxing after a day's work!"

THIS FACE. This was what made me cave in to find a way to purchase her — and actually, the same is happening for figma Reimu. I don’t regret buying her though :3

Another thing to note is that, she is not able to sit down like the rest of the nendoroids can. She needs a little elevation in order to sit — in this case, her base is the perfect seat :3

So… grading time!:

Sculpt and Painting: 5/5 Excellent sculpt and painting. Details are brilliant. The base is actually nice. Definitely worth the price of a limited figure.
Accessories: 4.5/5 Good amount of accessories. Attaching the tiny accessories to her hands gives the owner less hassle to pose Reimu with the props.
Posing: 3/5 Having only two faces was a major letdown for me, especially since she is a limited nendo while the normally released nendos have three faces. Being able to play with her using the di:stage and her relaxed/drunk face make up for it a little.
Overall: 4/5 Reimu is a very sweet nendoroid which would probably melt the hearts of Touhou fans. Even if you’re just a nendoroid fan, I think she is a very sweet get — especially if you appreciate very intricate details on your figures. Be warned though, she will hurt your wallet more than a regular nendoroid.

Thank you for reading my review! Comments and suggestions about the shoot and the review are very much welcome! :3

26 Responses to “Review: Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu”


  1. 1 Leonia October 18, 2009 at 8:06 PM

    Thanks you for this nice presentation. Reimu is really cute ^^ I love the last face ^^ So funny

  2. 2 Snark October 18, 2009 at 8:08 PM

    “Kagamiku, however has just seen a nendo in her box for the first time.”

    Y’know, that might be the catalyst of a massive existential crises for her =P

    But seriously though, Reimu is fucking cute; her tea drinking face is simply adorable

  3. 3 LEon October 18, 2009 at 8:52 PM

    Kawaii!! I love her base but she is a Japanese religious priestess rite?

  4. 4 Ninjovee October 18, 2009 at 9:03 PM

    @Leonia: Thank you! :3 Yes, that face is just so cute and funny! X3

    @Snark: Maybe, but Kagamiku doesn’t like to think too deep into things :P …and yes, Reimu is really cute! X3

    @LEon: Yes she is.. she’s actually one of the main characters of the Touhou games. :D I’ve only played Imperishable Night though, but it’s really challenging!

  5. 5 zh3us October 18, 2009 at 10:38 PM

    This is bad….

    I want her now. =(

    Expecting some Nice outdoor shoots for her? ^^;

  6. 6 Guy October 19, 2009 at 3:13 AM

    Figma Reimu finally made me understand that this was not “relaxed” but “drunk”.

    I love this figure’s default face and base, sweet.

    BTW, I don’t think her sculpting ruffles were that time consuming, due to being relatively few and small, and even so, I’d expect sculptors to go for time-consuming, after that it’s just manufactured by the machines and is left for posterity :D

  7. 7 Iced October 19, 2009 at 5:48 AM

    Reimu with Louise’s face is so moe~ xD Congrats on getting her! <3

    Sad I didn't preorder her when she came out, but at least I can have a chance to nab her Figma ^^

  8. 8 J.S. October 19, 2009 at 5:57 AM

    I love reviews! Thanks for writing!

  9. 9 Ninjovee October 19, 2009 at 8:01 AM

    @zh3us: I know it’s a good thing but also a bad thing for your wallet ^^; She’s bound to be somewhere on eBay, I guess ^^;

    Yes, I might take her out in the future :3

    @Guy: I actually think the drunk face is like a meme for Reimu, since it’s both on the nendo and the figma. But I think the teacup makes one think that it’s a “relaxed” expression too… there are some anime characters that have a similar expression when heaving a sigh of relief. Yes, I guess that is true… I still love the fact that Reimu’s clothing had so many details. All the nendos I have (except her) are fairly simple in terms of costume. So… I guess sculpting Reimu was relatively time consuming for sculpting a nendo XD

    @Iced: Thank you! :3 I was actually attempting to use Shana’s faces (especially since Reimu’s and Shana’s eyes are of the same shade, but Shana’s face won’t fit D= I’m glad Louise’s face did though!

    Actually the opposite of your situation is my dilemma. I want her figma too, but I don’t really have the means to pre-order it aotm ;A;

    @J.S: Thank you for reading! ^^

    • 10 Iced October 20, 2009 at 7:30 AM

      You’re welcome! ^^

      Shana’s face doesn’t seem to fit on anybody lmao XD *recalls the Kagamiku post*
      Same, love Louise’s faces <33

      Bah! Sorry to hear that :< I'm actually hoping that I can order her, but I just preordered Theia so I'm not sure if my parents would approve. XD; Of course, Reimu isn't coming out until next year, so good luck to us both, eh? ^w^

      • 11 Ninjovee October 20, 2009 at 9:23 PM

        AAAA OMG YOU PREORDERED NENDOROID THEIA! I AM SO ENVIOUS! /caps-spazz

        Yes… Shana is special. *sees Shana staring* meep @@;

        Yes, yes! Good luck to the both of us! owo
        BTW, dyou have a blog? I don’t think I’ve linked you yet :3

  10. 12 anonymous_object October 19, 2009 at 10:46 PM

    Hehe, Nendoroid Reimu is quite cute! Also going to get the Marisa Nendoroid? ;)

    I used Tokyo Hunter a few months ago to order a magazine exclusive figure. The final price was a bit expensive but the item wasn’t just a Japan-only shipping exclusive, it had to be mail-ordered through a magazine so I guess it would be a hassle to do. Haven’t received the figure yet so I can’t comment on the final outcome.

    I have ordered exclusive online figures through Goody-Japan and SMJ. Would probably recommend Goody with online shop orders since they’ll probably be a bit cheaper.

    • 13 Ninjovee October 20, 2009 at 9:37 PM

      AAAA. Actually I want to, but I’m unsure if I still have the money to get her. I am aiming to get figma Reimu though… ;~;

      Mm. I guess you’ll blog about Tokyo Hunter’s services when you get your figure? ^^

      I’ve seen Goody-Japan recommended around figure.fm as well, do they accept paypal? I kind of don’t have a credit card I can use as of the moment… sadly enough ;A;

  11. 15 Iced October 21, 2009 at 4:38 AM

    @Vee: LOL! It was right at the last minute, but yes I did~ Now I’m just hoping GoodyJapan will make it all work out for me O3O

    fff the only reason I knew about her existence was from you! XD

    Well, I don’t have one yet, but right now I’m thinking about it. I’ll let you know when I do, though! ^^

  12. 17 thetsundere October 22, 2009 at 6:57 PM

    *_______* So jealous! She’s adorable! I’m ordering some nendos soon and a few people have tweeted saying I should get Reimu~~

    and those are some nice white pantaloons xP

    • 18 Ninjovee October 22, 2009 at 7:31 PM

      Reimu is pretty much worth it! Although I still would’ve been happier if she had another face XD but anywho… I’m sure you’ll get a chance to get Reimu in the future! :3 I kinda regret not getting Nendoroid Theia though ;A;

      Yus she has very nice pantaloons XD

  13. 19 Tommy October 25, 2009 at 1:12 PM

    Congrats on your new love. She looks deadly cute indeed. ^^

    I love that “enjoying tea” expression, seeing that makes you feel relaxed too.

    But yea, TH is quite expensive when you order small/popular stuff from him.

  14. 20 Hado November 13, 2009 at 11:30 AM

    Great review! I can’t wait to get mine!
    Touhou characters are very frilly, I’m suprized by anyone who wants to sculpt them!

  15. 21 kiera April 19, 2010 at 2:28 AM

    i just ordered her!!!!! yays!!!! good i NEEDED this!!

  16. 22 reimuhakurei April 19, 2010 at 7:39 AM

    My favorite nendo….

  17. 23 ILuvNendoroids August 6, 2010 at 10:24 PM

    I need help deciding which nendoroid to buy. here are the choices!

    1: Nendoroid Marisa

    2: Nendoroid sakuya

    3: Nendoroid Sanae

    Please answer in the next 2 days. I need a friend for Rin Kokonoe on vacation. Please, Please, PLEASE answer!

    Thank you!

    • 24 Ninjovee August 6, 2010 at 10:33 PM

      Wow. Quite an odd place to ask for suggestions, but my bias makes me go for Nendoroid Sanae! ~_~; I love the style of her hair and her set of alternative faces!

      If you’re in for the accessories though, Nendoroid Marisa and Sakuya are pretty good since they have nice accessories that other nendoroids can use too.

      In the end, it all comes down to which character you love the most! But I think as of now, nendoroid Sakuya would be the most readily available (and possibly affordable) one since Sanae and Marisa have been released for some time already.

      I hope that helps! ^^;

      • 25 ILuvNendoroids August 6, 2010 at 10:41 PM

        thank you soooo much! I didn’t think anyone would actually give me an opinion! i’m going to wait for a couple more opinions and then decide. thanks again!

    • 26 Ninjovee August 6, 2010 at 10:51 PM

      Well, it’s my blog after all, which is why I got notified of your comment right away ^^ This is quite an old post though, so I’m not sure if people would respond quickly.

      Maybe you should try asking in figure.fm? :3 The community there is quite active so I’m pretty sure you’ll get quite a lot of suggestions ^^


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

