figma Saber (Fate Extra ver.): To get or not to get?

saber_extra

So, the Fate/Stay Night series has another game that’s coming out called Fate Extra, with Saber in another getup — and I guess with the huge success gathered by Saber Lily from Fate/Unlimited Codes, they decided to make another exclusive figma to come with the game. Danny Choo just posted the photos of the limited edition Saber Extra (that sounds wrong) a bit earlier. As much as I love Saber, I can’t really say the same for this figure.

saber_extra01

Things that I do love about figma Saber (Fate Extra ver.): her ahoge is quite lovely in this version, unique hairstyle is a plus, love the fact that she isn’t in her armor (except for her legs).

Now, here are the things that I don’t like about her, besides the fact that she is, yet another limited edition that’s bundled with a game that I most likely might not be able to touch since I don’t play very often nowadays (and that I don’t have a PSP): her red-gold color scheme reminds me too much of Ang Pao, the buttons on her midriff look a little weird, the translucent skirt isn’t really good for display, especially for a girl like me whose parents are not only on the traditional side, but dislike my figure collecting hobby and last but not the least — her shoes, they’re so pointy they could pass as a dwarf’s — or a dwarf knight’s (if there’s such a thing) pair of shoes… and this reminds me of the oh-so-disgusting rendition Daiki Kougyo made of Saber. The only ways that I’d change my mind in getting her is either she has some epic awesome props that are exclusive to her, or that someone gives her to me as an ang pao (bad pun intended).

8 Responses to “figma Saber (Fate Extra ver.): To get or not to get?”


  1. 1 Snark October 22, 2009 at 10:12 PM

    “her red-gold color scheme reminds me too much of Ang Pao”

    Does that mean she’s got money stuffed inside her?

    On topic though, I’m actually really digging this figma! …except for her awful looking transparent skirt thing, not sure what the hell was going through their heads when they designed that -_-

  2. 2 LEon October 22, 2009 at 11:18 PM

    Most of the time, I don’t go for repaint. Unless I did not get the original one and make do with repaint. So a No for me.

  3. 3 Guy October 23, 2009 at 2:14 AM

    The transclucent dress is too opaque on the one hand, so you can’t really make her legs clearly, and too see-through on the other, so it doesn’t look “clean”.
    So that’s a minus.

    The golden straps on her midriff are partially to look good, and on the other, to hold fat in, which Saber doesn’t have,heh.

    Her head looks great. But honestly? It looks as if she’s going to a ball, not as if she’s a badass swordswoman and king.

  4. 4 Ninjovee October 23, 2009 at 7:56 PM

    @Snark: One word: fanservice. LOL. If they made something more subtle, it would’ve suited Saber better.

    @LEon: technically, it’s another costume altogether rather than a re-paint… but it does remind me of regular Saber just without her armor.

    @Guy: I actually like a lady-like Saber, which is why I am still indecisive about the plain clothes Saber figma ^^

  5. 5 Tommy October 25, 2009 at 1:17 PM

    Just another get-up to dig into the wallets of Saber/figma fanboys. Why the hell is she in her armour boots when she’s in a dress like this? Might be true to character design, but this is a nice area to put some original work into the design.

    She would make an interesting scaled figure with that transparent dress…we can call her “Saber Extra Pantsu”

  6. 6 Enlaii October 27, 2009 at 12:18 PM

    I never thought of this figure looking like an Ang Pao… but once you said it… *chokes on laughter*

    And yes, I agree on the inappropriateness of the transparent front of her dress. Completely uncool and against Saber’s character image of a swordswoman/king. Saber lily trumps this indecisive lady-figurine by far.

    I’m a fan of the Fate series, but seriously, do you guys realize how much the action figure industry is ripping their customers off by? After seeing one of the Japanese factory outlets, I finally realized how Not Worth It all of this really is…

  7. 7 Mark October 27, 2009 at 6:57 PM

    Definitely setting aside funds for this already. Didn’t get the chance to buy the Figma Saber Lily. I won’t let this one slide.

  8. 8 Ninjovee October 27, 2009 at 10:05 PM

    @Tommy: seriously, this is a major flop in my book — I think only those who want each and every version of Saber would get her — no mater how bad. Dx I’m glad I’m not that big of a fangirl. LOL. If there was a scaled figure of Saber Extra, reviewers don’t need to go in a low angle for the required pantsu shot.

    @Enlaii: XD That was really the first thing that ran through my mind when I first saw her… soooo. LOL

    I think this was a product of Saber Lily’s huge popularity — although I really think that Saber Lily deserved the figure treatment. IMO, well, it’s still our choice if we were to buy figures or not ^^; and the figure business is still a business I guess…

    @Mark: I’m not sure, but Toylet.net and some other places online might still have Saber Lily… not sure about the price though


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

