So many surprises. Coincidence?

This PHP documentation site is what greets me right after logging in to dannychoo.com

During the day that I posted my sentiments about OTACOOL 2 (would have been the day after, if I hadn’t published my post at midnight. LOL) I’ve seen a few surprises.

One is that, if I’m not mistaken, I’m banned from DC.com. I’ve been trying to access the site using my Firefox but I keep getting redirected to a PHP documentation site. I first tried those IP masking sites and got into the site okay… then I tried using Chrome and got to access the site too. But, after trying to log in the site, I am once again redirected to the same documentation page. That was really a surprise.

Then again, I somehow expected that it may be because I did criticize Danny in that OTACOOL feature in his blog, but upon checking the comments, my comment was still present. So it made me wonder if it was my latest post that had triggered the ban hammer.

I don’t think that Danny Choo, in his seemingly busy schedule would always stop by the sites where I linked my blog’s RSS to — well, except his own blog and figure.fm — but I doubt he checks each and every blog feed, since he recently automated the admission of new blog feeds on both sites.

With so few bloggers who actually blogged about OTACOOL 2, TanTango's on the first page when you search "otacool 2" on Google

Then, I got curious as to who actually blogged about OTACOOL 2 on their own sites, and well, surprisingly, there are very few who did, myself included.

If you run a Google search on OTACOOL 2, my entry is surprisingly on the front page. My entry title is probably eye-catching enough since the tone is so negative — so I’m speculating that Danny saw this — or someone tattled about it — although I think the latter is less likely to be the cause.

I’m not sure if I was banned because he was afraid that I would spam DC.com or figure.fm with links to my entry, or maybe just troll — I’m too lazy to be a troll. All I know is, he’s probably avoiding the bad press. Nobody likes bad press — especially sponsors.

Another surprise is that, on the same day of my post, Danny posted a compilation of all cosplayers who are most likely going to be included in the book, and mentions that: they can fit nearly all valid entries into the book, and a reminder that he will only be choosing a few people for the cover and Koto would be choosing for the rest of the book. I found that a little bit fishy, but I think that’s my inner cynic talking.

Looking through the entry though, even though majority of those picked are, as predicted, poster boys and girls for cosplay, there are those who are brilliant but don’t fit into everyone’s definition of poster boys and girls. Seeing this makes me a bit happier about the direction the book is taking, but of course, there will still be the reality that there are still a lot of people who will have wrong notions about cosplaying.

I’m a bit full of myself because I think that this might have triggered that post, but the possibility is there.

…Or, everything is just one big coincidence.

Oh… and something to ponder about: I’m not a Danny-tard nor am I a Danny hater. I am posting what I have posted in my blog because of what I see and I want to voice out my opinion, no matter how few people read it. I personally like some of the content that DC.com has and it also has a community where I found several bloggers who I’ve more or less become comrades with. Recent posts might seem to make me a DC basher, but I just dislike some details on the things that he posts. If you like Danny, I’m fine with that. If you hate Danny, I’m fine with that too. You can tell me your likes and rant about your dislikes about him but please do not suggest me to make an alliance that is either pro or anti-Danny because making war does nothing good anyway. Besides, there’s more to a person that just his blog. :)

24 Responses to “So many surprises. Coincidence?”


  1. 1 lightningsabre January 24, 2010 at 6:02 PM

    It might’ve been Hikky’s post that I read about Danny having really some moderators that may be more frivolous or the opposite of that, depending on the situation. Some people may take things too seriously, so perhaps that may be one of the reason, if it’s a ban. I’m pretty sure Danny doesn’t just ban people from voicing an opinion, especially if it’s constructive. Send him an email if you’re concerned about it. Though it takes a while to reach him, he does reply with possible reasons… and solution.

    And I doubt he bans people just because of what you wrote on your blog. Your blog is your blog. It sounds petty to ban people from a site because of something you wrote outside the said site.

    Of course this is my opinion based on the integrity of the person and from some experience browsing the site for a couple of years, so I may be wrong.

  2. 2 Mark January 24, 2010 at 6:44 PM

    Wow. That’d be a low if it was actually Danny who banned you for voicing out your opinion. At the same time, if he has mods who wave around the ban hammer like it was some fluffy pen and ban anyone they “think” is a threat, then I fear Danny is being severely misrepresented here.

  3. 3 Tsun January 25, 2010 at 12:11 AM

    You shouldn’t care that much, dannychoo only represents casual anime fans, not real otaku or anything like that.
    Hardcore otaku don’t even know who he is.

  4. 4 Ninjovee January 25, 2010 at 12:51 AM

    @ecchiman: Well, I’m not entirely concerned about it since I don’t post comments much on DC.com anymore. Like I said, it was surprising that these events are almost simultaneous it makes me think that something is up — but I’m pretty much a cynic at times so maybe it’s just one big coincidence.

    @Mark: I forgot who and when it was posted, but I remember someone saying that they got banned because of they commented about their disapproval of Apple’s products, the comment was deleted too. Of course, whoever swung the ban hammer isn’t known. I also don’t know if there are mods in DC.com since I’m fairly new there.

    @Tsun: Well, TBH, I got the wrong definition of otaku and claimed to be one. Recently, mostly because of what I’ve read on OEG, I’ve realized that even if I love anime, I am definitely not obsessed enough to be called an otaku. A lot of people see him as an otaku though, and sadly those who know better are the minority.

    It’s sort of like letting a beauty pageant select a representative for one’s country. Only select, influential people (or in this case, organizations) get to vote for who they like as a representative, and the rest of the world recognizes this.

    As for the OTACOOL 2 issue, I felt more strongly about it because of a lot of misconceptions about cosplaying as a hobby and cosplayers in general. I’ve also been through discrimination because of these misconceptions, and ideal as it is, I wish that people who are in charge of OTACOOL would at least be more fair about the people they select, because they’re supposed to represent what cosplay is all about.

    • 5 lightningsabre January 25, 2010 at 3:41 PM

      Oy oy! Ecchiman here too?? -.-

      Anyhow… Yeah, it’s up to you if you want to pursue or not. I do tend to question it first and think about it optimistically first. Though I do have my cynical nature as well too ^^;

      It was Hikky who got a temp ban because, as he explained, it was by an over-zealous Mac-biased moderator, which apparently Danny does have.

      As for Otacool 2… I can’t say much about it. I’m not a good judge of costume apparently, and it ain’t my book, so it’s up to them what they want to pick and feature in the book. Not really sure what else they can do after this, honestly.

  5. 6 LEon January 25, 2010 at 11:57 AM

    I think this is the work of the “hardworking” moderators and fans for DC. Anyway I should not give them too much credit.

    Just let this entry to be a testimony of what you have experience and move on to better things ya? :)

  6. 7 robostrike January 25, 2010 at 2:05 PM

    I remember friends getting banned for negative comments, but that should not stop you from being in OTACOOL 2. I should suggest to refrain from Windows promotion or strong stand points which DannyChoo does not favour (Eg. how much MAC sucks). Since it is his site, let him have his glory. My friend got banned from the TV ad saying how bad the touchscreen on Windows 7 was from Sony. There was no indication that it was Windows 7 problem entirely but Danny claims that it’s a Windows thing and will not accept any other answer.
    Seriously though, do be careful with what you say. Your opinion counts, but since flamers exist, he may target you as a flamer for your negative comments.
    Continue your hard work on your cosplays. If he’s not choosing the inside pages, consider yourself lucky or he might have blacklisted you… but that’s just me and being negative from time to time.

  7. 8 Ninjovee January 25, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    @lightningsabre: sorry. I really like using ecchiman. The name sticks. ^^;

    Hm. I wonder… They’d probably put figure photos up for OTACOOL 3 or something… maybe fanart! LOL.

    @LEon: Yes. Well said :)

    @robostrike: I would think someone like Danny would know the difference between a flame and constructive criticism — or at least, he should, especially since he’s running his own business. Also, I don’t think one’s blog would survive the internet if he keeps on blacklisting people for not agreeing with their views.

    As for OTACOOL, I wasn’t discouraged by this ban at all. It was more because after thinking about it, I don’t think it’s worth it afterall. Koto gets lots of (future) profit, and they’d only spend 24 figures worth for the talent fee. LOL.

    • 9 lightningsabre January 26, 2010 at 5:36 PM

      Haha it’s fine. I did mind it at first, but it may actually be the first nickname that was given to me, so it’s somewhat sentimental, LOL!

      Oooh I wouldn’t mind seeing Fanarts. Though I wonder if they can do it if there are copyright issues. Then again it’s Japan, land of doujinshis…

  8. 10 lovelyduckie January 26, 2010 at 5:38 AM

    I found your blog because I saw your comments on DChoo and got curious, ironic that I was looking at your account after you got banned. It’s sad when a connection gets broken off like that without much explanation.

    • 11 Ninjovee January 28, 2010 at 12:06 AM

      Well, I guess deviating can be a good thing at times. :)
      I’m pretty annoyed at the fact that they don’t even tell you that you’re banned but redirect you somewhere else — or they just modified a certain value in the user database, which results to and error, thus the re-direct but that’s SO unethical. /rambling

      • 12 lovelyduckie January 29, 2010 at 3:09 AM

        No I understand how you feel. I was banned from an online figure store actually. And the circumstances were exactly the same as yours. No explanation, a complete cut off in communication, and I was left to try and figure out what I did wrong. Generally I try to do good, so if I did something wrong, it was by accident. But with systems like these there is no room for explanations or apologies so…

  9. 13 Yi February 10, 2010 at 4:01 AM

    Weird. One big coincidence… Maybe?
    Btw. I sincerely hope they didn’t ban you because of that post, since that post has really constructive feedback to Otacool2.

    • 14 Ninjovee February 16, 2010 at 1:26 PM

      After a while, I also think this might be a huge coincidence… sadly, I think it’s probably a moderator (if there were any) who threw the ban hammer, and I couldn’t think of any other deed in any way, shape or form that could have merited a ban in DC.com.

      Oh well… just means that I can’t get a chance to participate in DC.com giveaways anymore. LOL XD

  10. 15 ishokuosero February 18, 2010 at 5:16 PM

    Wow, that’s seriously odd, but it does remind me of what happened to lovelyduckie a while back here, when she got banned from Otakufuel (as it seems she made a comment mentioning it in passing here ). It’s like deja-vu, pretty weird.

    Either way, I suppose it’s time to move on. Sometimes life throws you odd curveballs, but it’s probably for the best. If, by chance, it wasn’t a coincidence, and it really was a mod that banned you for your post here, then just imagine what the site will be like in the years to come. I’ve only had bad experiences with sites going downhill, and they don’t tend to recover, so it’d probably only get worse anyway. I’ve never ‘liked’ Danny, but I’ve never ‘hated’ him either. I think I may have made an account there, but I’ve felt no need to go back, so I suppose that’s where I stand.

  11. 16 moemoekyun February 21, 2010 at 1:25 AM

    not surprised otacool is starts from danny not kotobukiya so if it’s failed danny failed 2 danny inspired by member post that post their room
    if you banned by him it’s normal damn you DC.com

  12. 17 Wolfheinrich February 21, 2010 at 6:00 PM

    There is more negative press about Otacool 2 than I expected, it’s just too bad that things turning out the way it is. I am not pro-dc nor am I against it. Actually I rarely go to DC anymore, I just stay in figure.fm and chat in the blurb.


  1. 1 Otacool 2. Copyrights issue. « NaNeee?! Trackback on February 14, 2010 at 2:39 AM
  2. 2 My Reason starts Blogging and DannyChoo sucks ADVERTISEMENT KING « scarlet devil mansion Trackback on February 20, 2010 at 1:24 PM
  3. 3 OTACOOOL2 WTF IS THAT(Dc suks part 1) « scarlet devil mansion Trackback on February 20, 2010 at 11:39 PM
  4. 4 MOAR OTACOOL DRAMU? « Tangerine Tango Trackback on February 21, 2010 at 1:37 AM
  5. 5 Tangerine Tango Trackback on January 4, 2011 at 2:28 PM
  6. 6 Looking forward to 2011 « Tangerine Tango Trackback on January 4, 2011 at 2:29 PM
Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

