Full Metal Alchemist Chessboard Mail-order Exclusive

FMA CHESSBOARD! >w<

FMA CHESSBOARD! >w<

This month, Arakawa-sensei has closed the book on Full Metal Alchemist for good with the final chapter of Full Metal Alchemist released in the latest issue (July) of GanGan. I just read the scanlations of the final chapter a while ago from trusty old OneManga and couldn’t be more satisfied with the ending. Although, there is still that feeling of wanting more from the series. All I can say is: some events were unexpected, but, this final chapter will definitely tie a lot of loose ends — and leaving some ends open for the reader’s imagination. I have sat at the edge of my seat, mostly cried, then laughed near the end. It was really a good conclusion, and I’m pretty sure a lot of fellow fans would feel the same. I can’t wait to see what Arakawa-sensei will come up with next.

Moving on to the main point of this post, well, it’s yet another news post, but seeing as there is not much awareness for FMA merchandise, and that I’m still mulling over the end of one of my favorite series for all time… here it is!

At the end of the chapter, there is a full page announcement (as you can see in the above photo) of an upcoming chess set that’s going to be available thru mail-order.

The chess set is based on the cover illustration of FMA chapter 85 which is shown below:

Cover of FMA Chapter 85

The order form for the chessboard is expected to be in the September issue of GanGan (that is to be released on August 12) and the price is estimated at 9800 yen. There are no release dates announced yet. It’s probably time to contact your favorite middlemen and inquire as to how much this would damage your wallet.

The chess set will include 36 PVC chess pieces that are around 2-4cm tall and a 27 x 27 cm chess board that is made of paper/cardboard.

It’s quite pricey especially since this is supposed to be a Japan Mail-order exclusive, but, as a fan of FMA who doesn’t really have much merchandise from the series, I am seriously considering scrimping up just to get this… then again, I’m also trying to save to complete the CLAMP no Kiseki chess pieces as well. Too many merchandise, too little time to save!

This is one of the times I wish that FMA figures weren’t exclusively made by Kotobukiya. Damn you SQUEENIX! ;~;

Information sources: fullmetalalchemist.com forums; Official FMA LJ Community

18 Responses to “Full Metal Alchemist Chessboard Mail-order Exclusive”


  1. 1 Bablet June 11, 2010 at 8:47 PM

    I’d get it just for the little people figures!

  2. 3 Joanne June 12, 2010 at 12:04 AM

    Price… crazy… T__T

  3. 5 Guy June 12, 2010 at 6:41 AM

    I wouldn’t but it. It’s scalpers’ prices, charging so much because they’re charging you figure prices, not how much they should…

    Anyway, good to hear FMA is reaching an end, and won’t run on endlessly (Naruto). It’s been getting bogged down the last few books, as it’s reaching its closure (I’m reading it in English).

    I am in general coming to not appreciate how many loose ends get tied up in the final chapter or two. It doesn’t really make sense, for all those loose ends to tie up so neatly, or rather, at the same time. I think loose ends should get resolved all over the story, but usually get resolved in the end because the author knows this is about the last chance ;)

    I’m reading it in English, as it gets released, and will keep doing so. The Hohenheim/Amestris history was cool.

    Also, the cardboard board is not surprising, as they want to fold it, but for this price, it’s ridiculous. Also, I hate to say it, but as a chess set, it looks awful.

    • 6 Ninjovee July 7, 2010 at 11:02 PM

      Technically speaking, if it were sold per piece, it’s the same price as how you would pay for gachapons and those are usually acquired at random so you won’t really get the figure you want. I do agree that it’s quite pricey but it’s a set, and it’s limited. We all know the drill.

      I just read FMA thru onemanga because English manga over here is so hard to find T_T

      Well, technically, it’s not supposed to be used as a chess set. It’s just another piece of (limited) merchandise from the series. It’s based off a manga illustration after all.

  4. 7 banoni June 13, 2010 at 10:08 AM

    If only I play chess. Haha.XD But this would look great in any fma collection.^__^

    I’m gonna consider buying this. Thanks for the info.^^

  5. 9 Yi June 17, 2010 at 10:43 PM

    That’s kind of neat. The pieces look really cute and it’d be so adorable to play with them. Unfortunately, it’s kind of overpriced. :(

    • 10 Ninjovee July 7, 2010 at 11:05 PM

      Yeah! It is overpriced! :< and with so much new stuff incoming, I don't think I'll be able to PO this. Haha.

      I'm still hoping that FMA figures aside from the ones Koto (under Squeenix's name) and Bandai are releasing would come out someday ;~;

  6. 11 Radiant June 21, 2010 at 2:19 AM

    I remember when Clamp did that. They released chess pieces one at a time with a packaged product. That was very expensive too!

    Is there really a target market for this kind of thing though? As a collector, yeah it’s cool. But will I really be playing chess at all? (I know how to play it). I doubt the typical mainstream anime fan would be interested in playing chess…

    • 12 Guy June 29, 2010 at 4:04 AM

      I play chess, and I find this set horrendously ugly. Not to mention tacky.

    • 13 Ninjovee July 7, 2010 at 11:09 PM

      I think the reason why they were expensive was because they were bundled with the artbooks. Well, I’m slowly collecting the CLAMP no Kiseki artbooks and chess pieces and the pieces are priced at 2-5 USD at the average. Pretty much the same price as opened blind box figures ~_~;

      IMO, there’s definitely a target market for this. Remember, fans are still fans and there’s definitely a percentage of really dedicated (or maybe just obsessed) ones that would try and get their hands on any kind of merch available. Considering FMA has a very huge fanbase, even a small percentage of that fanbase would probably be enough to satisfy the sales of this item. Of course, this is all in theory, but I’m pretty sure it’s possible XD

  7. 14 lovelyduckie June 29, 2010 at 3:00 AM

    I really love FMA but I’ll be passing on this. I actually stopped reading the manga temporarily and I’m watching FullMetal Alchemist: Brotherhood first. My bf started the first FMA series with me a long time ago and now we’re watching Brotherhood and he doesn’t want me knowing the ending as I’m watching with him. I don’t mind, it’s nice when both people watching a show don’t know how it will turn out.

    • 15 Guy June 29, 2010 at 4:04 AM

      I am reading the manga, but in books. The final chapter came out in Japanese last month, and the anime might well end before it’s released in English :)

  8. 16 FPOB (FRESH Prince of Beijing) July 19, 2010 at 5:53 AM

    WOW! I’d totally get this…if only it wasn’t so expensive. I mean 98 dollars for PVC figures and cardboard?!?! Might as well make your own…But the figures are so lulzy, I find it hard to pass up. FMA was a great series, ten times more engrossing than Naruto, which drags on and on. It’s now just a bunch of fluff and boring flashbacks barely keeping it alive…anyway, So what happened to Selim at the end? He has like an eye in his forehead. But I’m sad that FMA is complete. I hope they make an epilogue or something.

  9. 17 Jj August 4, 2010 at 1:23 AM

    i want to get this for my brother who loves chess and FMA..

    but the price… o_o;;
    hmm.. maybe get it for christmas.. which counts as 9 years of presents in 1..?

    man.. the figures are so cute T^T

  10. 18 M October 20, 2010 at 2:39 AM

    I remember seeing that splash page and thinking, “Hot damn, I’d love to own that!” And they made it! It’s like someone read my mind or something.

    But the price! Guh… I definitely can’t afford it now, but I’ll probably start prowling ebay for it in 3 years or so.


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

