I’m still here! Random updates, sales… and giveaways?

Nendo Yoko and Nendo Reimu on my desk

A Random photo because I don't know what to put in here! (and no, I do not support Apple much, like a lot of other bloggers seem to do XD)

Hi everyone! I’m technically back from the blogging graveyard after being sucked in by my borderline-chronic May sickness. I think I was sucked in from playing The Sims 3 for a while, and then I suddenly just found this huge speed bump of laziness (as if my laziness in the past wasn’t lazy enough). But really, I don’t have anything else to blame for not being able to blog except for the fact that I feel that I lacked the drive to do so for the past few weeks. I am still active in collecting, as attested by my influx of purchases — half of them being impulsive ones — and the increasing piles of boxes that can be found in various parts of my room. Those who have been following me through my Twitter might know some of the loot I’ve acquired during my silence in the blogosphere.

I’ve pretty much been active on Twitter since it’s pretty easy, mobile and instant. It really sucks your time in, as much as online window shopping could (which I’ve been SO guilty of the past few weeks).

So what else have I been up to lately? I’ve been joining giveaways! Trying to get freebies is always fun especially if you have a very expensive hobby like figure and merchandise collecting.

I won another giveaway! :3

Little Busters towel from the Akihabaka Pre-Launch Giveaway day 4

One of the most recent giveaways I have joined is the Akihabaka Pre-Launch giveaway, headed by Syn3rgetic in Figure.fm. It’s a series of giveaways and currently, giveaway day 5 and day 6 are still ongoing, although day 5 is more of a promotion of Akihabaka’s visual novel project. The project is very interesting so you guys might want to check it out! I’m pretty lucky to have won the day 4 contest… although once again, luck wasn’t a factor in this one. I think I’m not cut out for random draws and guesses. I almost always fail them ~_~;

My previous giveaway loot :3

My previous giveaway loot :3

Akihabaka’s contest is the fourth online contest I’ve won. The first three would be Open The Toy‘s Doraemon contest, Alafista‘s Christmas Giveaway and Otaku Dan‘s Anniversary Scavenger Hunt Giveaway. From those contests, I’ve won the Doraemon Keychain, Nendo Puchi Rin and the most epic Kugiyama Rie Tribute shirt from Jlist respectively (they should make female sizes! XD)

Haruhi Azone Dolls!

Haruhi Azone Dolls!

I’ve also joined a doll gi– adoption of sorts. A few of you who have followed my tweets might know I’ve been mentioning this for a while now. At first, it was a lucky draw contest, but the owner decided for it to become a bidding contest… and I bid… 50 USD! Strangely enough, I’ve won. I’m still not over my disbelief that the owner was willing to part with three pretty much sought-after dolls for that price when he could have gotten at least five times the amount if he sold them on eBay. So, I’m hanging on to my pillows until I see the package arrive here with my very own two eyes. The owner seems to have sent them over via EMS so I should be expecting it in a couple of weeks (local post office is zetta slow).

Haruhi approves of joining giveaways

Haruhi approves of joining giveaways

I’ve also used my lame-ass humor and tried joining in OptimisticPenguin‘s first blog anniversary giveaway, hoping to get a chance to win first prize (NENDO PLAYSET FTW!). I made a short comic that’s supposed to be a parody of a nursery rhyme. I’ve been a bit inspired by Lightningsabre‘s The Melancholy of Saber Lily 4komas that I’ve put in my own Haruhi vs. Lily rivalry in the comic too (but it’s just Summer ver. Haruhi because I’ve yet to own Chouyuusha Haruhi) . I might put the comic up once I’ve become thickfaced enough to accept that my humor is very lame ~_~; while doing the shoot for the comic though, I’ve realized that I lack so much photography practice… and that my figures don’t get out of their boxes much. My Haruhi still had that very nice FRESHLY OPENED figure scent about her, and she’s one of the very first figmas I’ve purchased! Then again, I don’t have much room for my figures to be displayed in ~_~;

Bakemonogatari Nen Puchi Set 2

Last but not least, I’ve joined ToyPusher’s anniversary giveaway to try winning this cute Bakemonogatari Nen Puchi set. Even though I’m shamelessly clueless about Bakemonogatari still because I haven’t watched beyond the first episode, I do have set one because Senjougahara is epic cool. This contest is still ongoing and all you need to do is gain points by either dropping a comment or retweeting and referring your friends to join in the contest! Toypusher is a great blog to visit as well, so I also recommend that you drop by every once in a while to read her posts =D

Aside from joining giveaways, I’ve been trying to sell some of the figures that have not interested me as much anymore, mostly in order to get some funds to repair my 5 year old laptop that I love. Although some of these I don’t really like anymore, some of them, I’m really reluctant to sell, which is why the prices are marked up. Unfortunately I’m not trusting of our local post office to be confident enough to sell internationally, so I apologize if some of you (from outside the Philippines) were intending to buy one of these figures.

So what else is going in for TanTango now? Well, for once, I’m already working on my WonFes Summer 2010 wishlist post, which would highlight figures that have caught my eye. Both in my do want list and my do not want list… but mostly my want list LOL.

Also, I’m going to be working on my own review of the recently released BRS OVA. The fandom has been torn between satisfaction and disappointment and I’m also one of those who are in the disappointments area, but more on that later. I’ve still pre-ordered the Limited BD+DVD disc set though. LOL

I’d also like to share some of the things that have brought me back from my speedbump: one is Yi’s recent post about his journey as a blogger, which is another good read in Listless Ink. Another is the fact that my blog actually does reach some people and my posts do affect the readers in some way. I might be a bit conceited but I’ve encountered another local fellow collector (online) whom I believe, is not affiliated with other bloggers I’ve been following. He’s just a casual collector, but he has mentioned that my reviews of Nendo Kagamiku and Nendo Yoko have convinced him to add them to his collection. I was pretty happy upon hearing this that I felt that I should dust off TanTango and write more. I have quite a lot of ideas for posts but never really got around to sitting down and working on them.

With that, hopefully, I’m going to be able to post more regularly. I still need some ideas for a better figure photography setup because my current setup isn’t liking my Celize (my LX3 camera) too much to produce decent photos… or it’s just me making an excuse to say that I don’t suck.

Aside from that, throw me some suggestions on who to interview for my In Focus articles. It doesn’t have to be limited to cosplayers btw. It can be anyone that has a hobby related to our interests. As much as I want to interview some of the people for my blog, I’m not confident that the people I’ve thought of are willing to be interviewed, so suggestions are really welcome!

Oh, and if all goes well, I’m also planning to do a giveaway before the year ends. I just need to confirm that our local post office is not an asshole with sending stuff ~_~;

This has been longer than usual! Haha :3 I hope that my random updates did not bore anyone. Figure-related posts coming up very soon! Thank you for your continuous visits and support! :3

14 Responses to “I’m still here! Random updates, sales… and giveaways?”


  1. 1 Yi August 2, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    Good to see you back!
    Congrats on all those giveaways wins. That’s really impressive, and good luck on the ones still going.

    I’m excited to see your post on WonFes. I think I’m also a casual figure collector having only a few in my possession. I don’t particularly follow the big release/ announcement events or previews for figures, so blogs are my main source of info and reviews on figures. It’s really nice to see you’re dusting off the hiatus to blog about stuff again.

    p.s. Thanks for the link! ^ ^

    • 2 Ninjovee August 2, 2010 at 11:29 PM

      I’ve realized that I’ve never mentioned winning these giveaways except in Twitter, and I just thought about what I could talk about so I decided to put those in. The giveaways from Open The Toy and Alafista were way back… like last year, while Otaku Dan’s contest was around early this year.

      Window shopping has always been my sickness and technically speaking, browsing at blogs for the latest previews is technically like that too. I’m still in the middle of narrowing down which figures I’d like to blog about, since I don’t want the post to be very long.

      Thank you for the support! I appreciate it X3 and no problems on the link :3 I really love reading your posts.

  2. 3 Xine August 2, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    Thanks ninjovee for joining! And thanks for referring my blog to your friends, I really enjoy meeting new people (online) with the same (or probably even more) enthusiasm for toys. ^^

    • 4 Ninjovee August 2, 2010 at 11:30 PM

      Hi Xine~! You’re welcome~! I really want to take my shot at those nendo puchis although I’m not sure if I do have a chance. But it doesn’t hurt to try! :3

      And yes, it’s always fun to find people with the same interests! It’s pretty much one of the reasons I’ve decided to start this blog :3

  3. 5 Bablet August 2, 2010 at 11:39 PM

    HARUHI DOLLS?!!!!!!!! THAT IS AWSOME! You’re so lucky!

    • 6 Ninjovee August 2, 2010 at 11:46 PM

      Well… I’m not yet entirely sure they’ll arrive. But I’m trusting that the person is honest enough to be telling me the truth and they’re really on their way.

      If they do get here, I think I might dedicate a single post and gush on how awesome it all is ♥

  4. 8 lightningsabre August 4, 2010 at 3:16 PM

    You wouldn’t believe how much I criticize my humour being very lame and awkward and strange ^^; I’ve said it before that I almost seem to give up just as I was about to finish because the humour didn’t seem to work because I keep thinking others won’t get it >.> Most of the time it works thankfully XD Oh and yes, I’ve seen the comic and good stuff!

    And jeez you’re really lucky with giveaways! I kinda want that Railgun pillow, especially with the knee pits, lol!!

    • 9 Ninjovee August 9, 2010 at 11:40 PM

      Thanks again for your thoughts on my comic! It’s very much appreciated! X3

      Haha. I’m not sure I’m really lucky with giveaways… I just happen to do a bit of effort in most of them :3 I only won the Little Busters towel from Akihabaka though… The pillows were just for display (sadly)… I want the Anri pillows! X3

  5. 10 miscellanem August 9, 2010 at 11:27 AM

    I was on the fence on getting a Kagamiku nendo too, until I came across your blog! It’s always fun to read your entries, keep it up! =)

  6. 12 lovelyduckie September 3, 2010 at 1:44 AM

    I hear you on the figure sale thing :) I’m cutting back myself


  1. 1 Tweets that mention I’m still here! Random updates, sales… and giveaways? « Tangerine Tango -- Topsy.com Trackback on August 2, 2010 at 2:47 PM
  2. 2 Last month’s loot! « Tangerine Tango Trackback on September 2, 2010 at 1:17 AM
Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,350 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

