Another brief test shoot!

Louise & Etopen

Hi everyone! In a state of boredom, I decided to try taking a few test shots again using Celize (my Lumix LX3), and I’m pretty happy with the results this time. :3

Compared to my previous test photoshoot with Saber Lily where I failed miserably with the white balance, I was able to find a white balance setting that suited my needs. The first photo of Louise (with Etopen) was shot using custom settings and a custom focus point. I love that with the LX3, you can actually change where the focus is pretty easily, compared to trying so hard to get the right focus (via autofocus) with a normal point and shoot camera.

Louise's photo with preset levels

Louise's photo with preset levels

After taking a few shots, I felt that the shots are a bit darker than I expected when I finally transferred them to my PC. This is where I’ve decided photoshop should step in. Of course, it does wonders to improving one’s photos, but I’d really love to be able to get photos without having to post-process much. How would one be able to take photos that are bright enough that they don’t need post-processing?

The above photo has a bit of tweaking with the brightness and contrast, and I used one of photoshop’s levels preset that improves the contrast. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. ^^

Louise's photo with custom levels

Louise's photo with custom levels

This photo was tweaked with the same amount for brightness and contrast, but this time, I messed a bit with the levels. I have to say, the colors are definitely nice in this photo too, but the photo before this have the colors closer to the real thing. Which photo do you prefer?

Levels!

Comparing the effects of custom levels and the preset levels

I took the liberty of splitting the levels layers to see a direct comparison between the two. I’ve noticed though that the side with the custom levels is a bit more grainier (when zoomed in) compared to the preset levels side. I’m wondering if this has something to do with the color information that is lost in the levels layer.

Test shoot setup

My photoshoot setup

The above photo is my setup for this trial shoot. I’ve leveled up in terms of equipment because I’ve gotten an additional desk lamp! But in terms of the entire setup, it’s pretty much the same with what I had for my Nendo Kagamiku and Nendo Reimu shoots. I’ve been thinking of making my own lightbox for future figure shoots, but I’m still figuring out what to use for my lightbox. Any ideas in mind?

Well, with that much said, I’m guessing you’re wondering about my WonFes and BRS entries that I’ve mentioned in my previous post… don’t worry, I’m working on them, slowly but surely ~_~;

Before I end this post entirely, I’d like to express my gratitude to everyone who have been commenting on my recent posts. I feel so loved and motivated seeing that people do drop by! Thank you all! ^^

22 Responses to “Another brief test shoot!”


  1. 1 LEon August 10, 2010 at 9:07 AM

    good shots there. think your investment paid off for the camera.

    • 2 Ninjovee August 10, 2010 at 8:31 PM

      Thank you! I love my camera and it is indeed worth the money I spent~! Especially because there’s a whole new world of features waiting to be messed around with :3

  2. 3 FlawlessExa August 10, 2010 at 10:06 AM

    Louise is so cute. Still trying to get one when I have enough funds.

    99% of my photos are unprocessed. It takes too long and it’s better if I improve on my photography instead.

    I never handled a LX3 so how do you set the white balance on it? I use a Nikon D5000.

    • 4 Ninjovee August 10, 2010 at 8:39 PM

      Yes Louise is quite adorable! Haha. I get a lot of nendos because I don’t buy a lot of scaled figures. ~_~; I’m sure you’ll be able to allocate funds for her soon!

      Actually, post processing depends on how much you add to your post processing. Changes to my photos didn’t take too long since I just tweaked the brightness and levels, and there’s only so much that lighting equipment can do — and they still turn out a bit dark :c but to each his own. :3

      As for white balance, actually there were several options on how to set the white balance (one was the Kelvin thingy, and several presets) but I chose to use the easiest way, which was selecting something white within the set. I used a normal white paper for that. I never really knew what it’s called, but it’s similar to how an eyedropper tool works in photo editing software. I never really messed around with DSLR settings (since I don’t have one) so I can’t really direct where you would find that, but I’m pretty sure you can find that somewhere in your custom white balance settings menu :3

    • 5 FlawlessExa August 12, 2010 at 12:55 PM

      Not with all those WonFes figures coming up for pre-order….

      Photoshooting without proper setup is quite difficult. Usually I lack enough light so either the ISO must be high or a long shutter speed….I really should get a tripod…

      Oh, it wasn’t like I don’t know how to set the white balance. I was just asking you how does the LX3 works. ^ ^;

      I use the white paper method as well, it doesn’t work everything time though, white paper is sometimes not as white as you think they are…My DSLR is lacking that kelvin thing though.

    • 6 Ninjovee August 16, 2010 at 1:17 PM

      Oops! Sorry. I like to elaborate usually, although I did misinterpret your question ~_~;;

      I usually use a clean sheet of white bond paper to be sure that it’s really white ^^ then again, there are times when the light turns it into a different color and when used the colors get all weird O_o;

  3. 7 anonymous_object August 11, 2010 at 11:30 AM

    Nice job ^^. A little post processing can do wonders for photos!
    Looking forward to your wonfes post :)

  4. 9 Xine August 11, 2010 at 2:42 PM

    Nice pics! I’m loving all the pink in there. ^^

  5. 11 samejima August 16, 2010 at 12:53 PM

    We’ve got the same OMNI table lamp but mine is Gray and black. lol.

  6. 14 Yi August 25, 2010 at 12:49 PM

    You’re getting really good at photography! Such a professional set up too. ^ ^

    Anyways I love the photographs. The colors are really nice and Louise is adorable. I think I prefer custom levels, but both are great.

    • 15 Ninjovee August 29, 2010 at 2:22 PM

      Thank you~! I don’t think the setup is that professional since it’s all made up of home items and makeshift items :3

      I love the custom levels too~! But I might stick with the preset levels when giving reviews so people won’t be confused with the actual colors. ^^

  7. 16 Maridah August 29, 2010 at 12:24 PM

    You take adorable pictures X3
    I actually have a really good idea of how you could make a lightbox for super cheap since I watched Max make one recently. If you want, I’d be happy to take photos of his. It’s made of foam board (like what people use for school projects, paper poster board, tape, white nylon fabric, and binder clips. It works great and you can make it any size you need it. He spent about 20 mins making it and he got almost everything for it at the grocery store LOL

    • 17 Ninjovee August 29, 2010 at 2:24 PM

      d’aww~ thank you :3 But I think the nendos are just good at making themselves adorable!

      Oh, I think that would help a lot :3 I was actually thinking of how to make a lightbox that can be easy to assemble and disassemble since I’d want to stow them away after using but don’t have much room for keeping a huge box around. LOL.

  8. 18 Fifi August 30, 2010 at 10:40 PM

    Nice! I’ll be sure to take cues from this set-up in my next “photoshoot”.

  9. 20 lovelyduckie September 3, 2010 at 1:47 AM

    I built a decent light box using a cardboard box and white cloth, but the fact that it didn’t fold up was too inconvenient. I just ended up dropping $30 on a real light tent that folds up.

  10. 21 shinkonryu September 6, 2010 at 8:44 AM

    well, your saber photos are not bad as you say nyah :3

    well, if you have photoshop

    you can try the color adjustments nyah

    ur saber photos are a bit yellowish

    so i guess adding some levels in blue and magenta might help^^

    ah, the brightness and contrast is a very helpful thing nyah :3

    i usually use that in my drawings >____________<

    are you having this problem too?

    or was it just me? nobody from figure.fm seems to be attending to my problem though… T^T

  11. 22 shinkonryu September 6, 2010 at 8:46 AM

    oh! sorry! broken message

    i was also asking if you were having problems in logging into the figure.fm site

    it’s been days since I can’t access mine…


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,607 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

