Review: Nendoroid Nao (Staccato ver.)

Oh let’s see here… What’s this? Another post? — And a review nonetheless! I feel like this has been waaaaaay overdue so I decided to make another review post since I doubt anyone is interested in my comments for upcoming figures. ~_~; I have a huge backlog of unopened figures since I haven’t done any reviews in a long while, so I decided to start again! I’m trying out a different review style in this post, so please do comment on it. The subject of  this review is the cute Nendoroid Nao Staccato ver. from the online game Mabinogi.

Nendo Nao in her packaging

Nendo Nao in her packaging

Basic Information
Figure name:
Nendoroid 073: Nao (Staccato ver.)
Manufacturer: Good Smile Company
Character: Nao
Origin: Mabinogi (Korean MMORPG)
Run:
Exclusive
Original Price:
¥3000
More information:
MyFigureCollection.net

Funnily enough, I don’t know anything about Mabinogi besides that it is a Korean MMORPG that has Nao as its staple moe mascot. I still caved in and pre-ordered her from Tokyo Hunter because I simply adored her outfit, cute faces and her fashionable bag. Some of you may know that Nao already had a nendoroid that was released in 2007 that’s quite difficult to find nowadays since nendoroids back then were not as widely popular as they are now.

back view of the package

back view of the box

Nendoroid Nao Staccato version is a magazine and online shop exclusive. Which is why I enlisted the services of Tokyo Hunter to get her. I paid 6880 yen for her inclusive of EMS shipping. When I think of it now, I paid quite a high price for her, but back then, I wasn’t confident enough to use other proxy services like Goody Japan. She’s my second exclusive nendoroid which I got in November last year… and which is why this review is WAAAAY overdue ^^;

a close up of Nao

a close up of Nao

Packaging is the usual standard-issue packaging for nendoroids. They’re secured in the fitting plastic case, wrapped in plastic wrap for protection. The box shows the standard poses for the nendoroid as well as other information from GSC. But there’s no need to fear of getting any bootlegs, since Nao isn’t a very popular character, it’s unlikely that this nendoroid will ever get pirated.

Nendo Nao Staccato set

Nendo Nao Staccato set

Nendoroid Nao Staccato only has two faces. Her smiling face, and her tsundere face. The accessories that come with her is her bag and a pair of glasses. Aside from that, she comes with three alternate hands, five alternate arms and her standard issue base. Considering that I had to pay a premium for her, I’m not that happy that the amount of items she has is quite underwhelming.

Smiling Nao. Isn't she cute?

Smiling Nao. Isn't she cute?

Here is Nao finally out of her box after so long. I like the design for her uniform. It seems like it’s been straight out of an eroge game, not that I’ve played any ^^; You can also notice that Nao also has nendoppai, which is quite accurate because she’s depicted as a very busty mascot.

Nao, what are you looking at?

Nao, what are you looking at?

Nao is a twintailed character and so it is expected that you can move her twintails. Unlike Nendo Kagamiku and Miku though, Nao’s twintails can only move sideways because her hair ribbons are quite large and limit the movement of the twintails. I was quite disappointed when I found out because changing twintail angles sometimes gives a nicer, more natural effect to the pose of the figure.

A view of her back

A view of her back

Nao’s base is the standard-issue nendoroid base complete with a buttrest since she has a skirt. The peg for the base is a joint peg, but I seriously feel that it’s not really useful. More on the base later.

What are you looking at?

Tsundere mode: on!

Here’s Nao’s alternate face: the tsundere face. I think this face has an appeal to tsundere fans, especially when paired with the glasses that she has on.

Don't you know I'm a genius?

Don't you know I'm a genius?

Nao’s glasses don’t have any sort of pegs on it. The only way to put them on Nao is to wedge the glasses into the hair on the sides of her face.

A genius with a seemingly-split personality!

A genius with a seemingly-split personality!

One of Nao’s alternate hands is specifically designed to hold her bag. It’s somehow shaped like a hook, but the bag itself doesn’t really snap it place. You have to ‘hang’ the bag on her hand in order for you to achieve this pose. When I tried making this pose, the bag fell a couple of times.

Nao's a fashionable genius too

Nao's a fashionable genius too

I’m unsure if this bag was ever a game item, but I have a hunch that it must be a game item because it was featured quite a bit during previews and announcements of Nendo Nao. The design suits the overall outfit nicely and it’s pretty detailed for such a small item.

Closeup shots of Nao's bag

Closeup shots of Nao's bag

The only thing that I’m unsure of with this bag is that the back portion has a weird paint job on it. I am unsure if it is intentional or not. The gray portion is bulging a bit in the back like there was too much paint that had dried on the bag, but I’m thinking that it might be intentional since there is no indication that it might have been a mistake. Also the right gold plate in front lack some paint in the corner. It’s not too noticeable far away, but it can be seen even if you don’t look for it.

Do you want to study together?

Do you want to study together?

Nao’s other pair of alternative hands is used for the “kung fu” pose (as seen in the back of the box) and can also be used for poses with Nao lifting her glasses up. It can also be used for greeting aliens.

I'm not hiding anything!

I'm not hiding anything!

A pair of Nao’s alternate arms are used specifically for a pose which lets her put her hands behind her back. The pose can be seen as illustrated at the back of Nao’s box, but the actual execution is something else.

But in truth, Nao was hiding her bag

But in truth, Nao was hiding her bag

It is not seen in this photo, but Nao’s buttrest actually is a great obstacle in achieving the pose of Nao hiding her bag behind her back. The buttrest, strangely enough has a panel where there’s a hole where you can put the peg in. But because of that panel, it is difficult to place the bag on Nao’s hand and let it stay there. As I have stated earlier, the bag does not snap into Nao’s hand, it just hangs there. Because of the design of her base, it is virtually impossible to do the pose that was shown in her preview photos and her box. I feel that her buttrest was supposed to have been like the other nendoroids, where the buttrests are inserted into the pegs, but this design has come up. I feel that this is a major flaw in the design since it does not allow the owner to pose her hiding the bag behind her back — which is always shown as one of her poses in official photos.

Photo of Nao's base

Photo of Nao's base

The above is a photo of Nao’s base, just to show those who are wary of possible bootlegs what the base of this nendoroid looks like. I still do not like the design of Nao’s base at all.

Kagamiku looks adorable as a student

Kagamiku looks adorable as a student!

One good thing about this nendoroid is that her clothes look very nice, and it looks adorable on other nendos, like Kagamiku! But enough of that, let’s get on with the grades.

Review Statistics
Packaging: ★★★★★
Standard Issue packaging, not much needs to be said
Design: ★★★★
Nao is a very cute nendoroid. Her outfit and her accessories are cute too
Posing: ★★★★
The poses that can be done for Nendo Nao Staccato are very limited. It does not help that her base limits other standard poses that she can do as well
Enjoyment: ★★★★★
It was very hard to pose Nao and even though she is definitely cute. All her limitations put a damper in my enjoyment.
Value for money: ★★★★
Being an exclusive figure, I expected to get a lot more than this.
Overall Rating: ★★★★★
Considering the amount of money I had spent on her, and that she is an exclusive — if I had a choice, I would have bought a standard issue Nendoroid instead. The amount of limitations on her for an exclusive is not even funny. The only redeeming factor she has is that she’s cute and her clothes can be used on other nendos too. But that’s already a given with all nendos.

Well, that is it for my review. This is the first time ever that I had such a low grade for the figures that I reviewed, but that just shows how disappointed I am with Nendo Nao Staccato. I’m just sad that because I am disappointed in her, I don’t want to sell her off at the same price I bought her with. Sad, isn’t it? :c

That aside, I’d like to know what do you think of my new review format. Comments and suggestions are always appreciated! Thank you very much and have a good Sunday! ^^

21 Responses to “Review: Nendoroid Nao (Staccato ver.)”


  1. 1 LEon October 17, 2010 at 8:27 AM

    The bag and the glasses look good! Look like your investment on camera paid off. THe photos look good. :)

  2. 3 Singer Yuna October 17, 2010 at 10:05 PM

    “That aside, I’d like to know what do you think of my new review format. Comments and suggestions are always appreciated! Thank you very much and have a good Sunday! ^^” Very neat, I like the rectangle on the basics and rates. It’s very complete, and the white background feels so pro ^^
    Did you find the target code for the MMORPG?(between the pink and the box) I’m starting to have a akward collection of unuseful nendo-items like these targets (theia and my future Arch Bishop also have these stuff).

    Have a nice sunday too Jovee!
    (if you put it in tumblr I will reblog you with nendoroid.es ^^ I don’t mind it as a link to here *nods*)

    • 4 Ninjovee October 17, 2010 at 10:25 PM

      Thanks for the comments, Yuna ^^ I appreciate them!
      I find it funny that you like the white background because I didn’t even use any backgrounds for the shoot. My room’s wall is painted in white and the top of my bedside table is white too. ^^

      Oh gosh, if you didn’t tell me about the target code, I wouldn’t have known. What is it for anyway?

      Of course you can reblog :3 I’ll be posting a link in a couple of days ^^

      • 5 Singer Yuna October 18, 2010 at 12:58 AM

        Yep yep, sometimes simplicity works better than sheets of colors…like when you do a photo with a black desk and the black screen of the tv xD

        I don’t know, I never used…its another useless nendo-extra, like the Theia code…well, at least we know Arch Bishpo code is for a hat like the nendo…so maybe the nao’s….HER HANDBAG! lololol!

        Rebloged ^^

  3. 6 Fernando October 18, 2010 at 9:02 PM

    that nao action figure is so adorable, i wish i could buy one for my collection. hey do you know if they sell vocaloid ones too?

    • 7 Ninjovee October 18, 2010 at 10:28 PM

      I’m pretty sure you can be able to acquire Nendo Nao Staccato if you wish. There are quite a few Japan proxy services that can help you with that. Of course, you will need to pay for her. As for Vocaloid — there are several Vocaloid nendos out in the market. You can do a Google search and you’d see a lot ^^ just be careful because there are a lot of bootleg Nendoroids out there!

  4. 8 afkeroge October 19, 2010 at 12:48 AM

    This is actually pretty cute. Haven’t got any of those myself yet, but I’m planning to.
    Btw, I like your blog so I’m linking it. d[^_^]b

    • 9 Ninjovee October 19, 2010 at 1:17 PM

      You mean nendoroids? They’re both a blessing and a curse. They make your day brighter, but also drain your money away. Haha! ~_~;
      Thank you very much! :3

  5. 10 Yi October 19, 2010 at 1:55 AM

    Ooooh I like your star system. It gives a much more concrete value.

    Anyways, I smiled when I read nendoppai. ^ ^
    I like her clothes too, and I love her tsunere look. The glasses were kind of neat too. She’s adorable, but it’s a little unfortunate you can’t pose much with her.

    • 11 Ninjovee October 19, 2010 at 1:20 PM

      Thanks, Yi~! I was deliberating between stars and hearts but I figured stars are better for reviews ~_~;

      Haha! I wish the term was my brainchild but I’ve only seen it somewhere quite a while back. Since a lot of characters being nendroidized are usually flat it’s rare to see Nendoppai XD

      I do love her cuteness all the way! I’m just really disappointed that you don’t get as much fun with her compared to other nendos :c

  6. 12 Snark October 24, 2010 at 1:19 PM

    Shame her possibility was such a disappointment.

    For what its worth though, that bag is fucking detailed.

  7. 14 radiant October 24, 2010 at 2:37 PM

    Cho kawaii! I was tempted to get her too from Tokyo Hunter, but decided to pass on her. Too expensive for me at that time… that and she didn’t feature much parts (most nendoroids come with 3 or 4 faces, with several more body parts)

    Super detailed bag!

    Kagamiku looks awesome as a student. :D

    • 15 Ninjovee October 24, 2010 at 10:00 PM

      Yes, she is really adorable! I was easily swayed by the cuteness, unfortunately ._.; And yes, she does have fewer stuff compared to regular release nendoroids which adds more to the expensiveness.

      Kagamiku looks awesome in anything! XDD

  8. 16 Mark November 12, 2010 at 5:46 PM

    I wanted to get one of these but decided to give up on it. ^_^

  9. 17 Leonia November 23, 2010 at 6:24 PM

    This is a cute figure, I really like the color of her eyes.

  10. 18 lovelyduckie December 7, 2010 at 12:31 PM

    She was too pricey for me, but grats on the haul! I have the first release at least, and I like her quite a bit.

  11. 19 nendopook April 27, 2011 at 2:35 AM

    Such a cute nendoroid!!! (^_^)…but i think it might be a fake! the face is all shiny and as you said the paint job on the bag is not great, i think kagamiku is as well! :(

    • 20 Ninjovee April 27, 2011 at 7:16 PM

      Hi dear, thanks for dropping in my blog! =)
      Thanks for your concern as well, but not all nendoroids have a sticker to verify their authenticity. I got Nao from Tokyo Hunter and he never sells bootlegs since he’s a proxy service straight from Japan. =) I think something was off with my lighting that why Nao looks a tad shiny. She isn’t as popular as Miku is so I doubt they’d make any bootlegs of her anyway.

      I have a couple of bootleg nendos (they were gifts) in my possession so I know the difference between an authentic and a bootleg. =)

      I hope to see more of your comments around! =)

  12. 21 nendopook April 27, 2011 at 4:51 PM

    I posted that before i read your nendo kagamiku post and when i looked at the review i saw the authentiic sticker, so my bad! ^^;


Comments are currently closed.



The Juicer

  • 106,607 oranges squeezed since June 26, 2009

Tweet Tweet~ ♥

Follow TanTango

Tangerine Tango RSS Feed

ninjovee @ Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to Tangerine Tango and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31 other followers

Link Exchange?

Link exchanges are pretty easy to do~ Just comment in one of my entries and tell me that you've linked my blog -- and I'll link you back! ^^ If you need a banner for my blog, it's shown below:
Save and upload in your own server. Please and thank you!~♥

Wishlist/To Buy List ♥

  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga MissCon ver. (OWNED! ♥)
  • WAVE 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga Chinese Dress ver. (Dengeki Hobby Exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Kotobukiya 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga swimsuit ver. (Dengeki Daioh Exclusive)
  • Max Factory 1/8 Scale Aisaka Taiga
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga mizugi ver. (Toradora! Portable exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Nendoroid Petit Aisaka Taiga seifuku ver. (Cross of Venus exclusive) (OWNED! ♥)
  • Saber Lily ~Distant Avalon~ (OWNED)
  • figma Saber Lily (GIFTED~)
  • Saber Lily Alter ver (Owned!)
  • Nendoroid Saber Lily (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hakurei Reimu (Owned~ X3)
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Chara-Ani ver.
  • Nendoroids Konata and Kagami Saitama Shinbun ver.
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao
  • Nendoroid Mabinogi Nao Stacatto ver. (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Feena Fam Earthlight (OWNED)
  • Nendoroid Hirasawa Yui, Akiyama Mio, Tainaka Ritsu, Kotobuki Tsumugi, Nakano Azusa, Hirasawa Ui
  • figma.BP Suzaku Figma.BP (Owned)
  • figma Izumi Konata (Haruhi cosplay ver.)
  • figma and Nendoroid Drossel
  • Nendoroid Puchi Otaku Yuki (Owned)
  • ... and a whole list as long as my arm. ><;

